Boreal forest and the green "Kanas lake"


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang » Lake Kanas
May 1st 2016
Published: May 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

Xinjiang is an amazing and one of the most culturally diversed provinces in China (47 different ethnic groups with the Uyghur being the biggest one). But I have to admit that getting up here is all but easy and I took almost two days before getting there. This part of Xinjiang is situated in the northern part of the province north from Urunqi (The capital city). The area reminds me the Italian towns of the northern part of the country.

I stayed in a local village in a one of the wooden houses, which was really welcoming. There are a lot of walking trails surrounding the area and for a couple of days I spent a great time trekking along rivers, mountains, rural villages and the lake.

I had also the luck to meet a local person that was knowledgeable about this area and very helpful. Some parts were way too much far to reach by walk that we drove with a good four wheel drive to get there. I can only say that the beauty of the place was paramount and truly aweinspiring. It was so different if I think that only a few days ago I was in the desert along the Silk road and very hot and humid and after ended up in the boreal forest with the snow covered treetop. I always feel regenerated when I visit secluded places like this one and nobody around me which is pretty unique if I consider I am in China.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb