Kashgar


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang » Kashgar
August 15th 2006
Published: September 26th 2006
Edit Blog Post

August 15

Today I will finally arrive in Kashgar, only 4 days ago I was in Beijing. Strange having crossed China in such a short time. Its like being in another world, very few Han chinese and an almost desert environment. My feet have finally started to return to normal size after swelling from the constant standing on the trains. Prior to taking the sleeper bus I was not even able to put on my sandals anymore. The bus driver is nice enough to throw me in a taxi and I'm on my way in an lcd screened disco machine to the old russian consulate. After checking in I head to the Caravan cafe (recomended in the lonely book of bullshit) and meet some local chinese and a vancouverite working in this area for a Canadian mining company. We soon hit one of the local KTV's and have a couple of brews though cut the night short as I'm dragging my ass after too many days without a proper sleep.

August 16

Waking up in a real bed was quite a trip, an attempt at lunch at the caravan cafe was dashed by it being the only day of the week their closed. So wandering down to the Mosque I find its also offlimits till prayers are finished so its looking for lunch with an American that was just as lost as I was. After finding a uhgar tea house that served lunch it was a relaxing couple hours sipping tea and watching the traffic in the bussling streets below. Afterwards it was on to visit the Mosque which had almost a park setting inside and one of the strangest washrooms ever. The day finished with going for supper at the Chinese food stalls (which was an adventure in itself, though the steins of beer were worth the hassle), concluding with Baby Face and partying it up chinese style in a mirror/futuristic decorated club.

August 17

After a weird breakfast and meeting some Germans, I ordered my ticket to Tashgurkan and then onwards to Sost, Pakistan. The rest of the day was filled with visiting some local sights, hanging out at the tea house again and shopping in the old town. Hung around John's cafe for the evening and celebrating the birthday of some retired swiss bikers who had traveled all the way on BMW's from Europe.




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



19th January 2007

very nice
HI ,I am a chinese guy who live in xinjiang. you are great I admire you . I can help you travel in xinjiang sosjean2006@yahoo.cm.cn

Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0225s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb