Much to write about nothing


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Xinjiang » Kashgar
January 7th 2008
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Kashgar


I finished my book last night. I couldn't help myself, I had to know what was going to happen. That meant two things, one I was up until very late and two I now don't have a book to keep me company and hold little hope of finding another one anytime soon. Because I was up so late, I was also late to rise but this was ok as I had planned on having a lazy day. I headed into the bathroom to turn the shower on and let the water run until it was hot (a far-cry from always turning tops off and being so careful about water back in Australia!) but all the shower did was give a loud sigh, make a gurgling noise and die. Nothing. Not even a drip of water came out. I turned on the cold tap and got the same response, I had killed the shower. I soon realised there was no water at all, which was confirmed by the hotel staff, however for some reason I neglected to think that it would affect the toilet and having been once already (and having flushed already) when I went the second time and went to flush only to find no water, I was left with a full toilet. Not a nice thing to have. Not having any water I resorted to wet-wipes and gave myself a quick freshen up and then headed out to check my email as I was expecting an important reply.

The email I was expecting related to changing the date of my return flight home to a week earlier, however the travel agency was unable to help and suggested I contact the airline itself. I gave them a call and was told that all flights for the two weeks leading up to my pre-booked return flight were fully booked, the only seats available were business class. I asked if she felt generous and wanted to upgrade me but my witty humour was lost in translation and she simply told me it was very expensive. I rang back a little later and asked if I could be weightlisted or put on standby for a ticket if someone cancels but was told that the period to register for being weightlisted had passed. I then asked if I could somehow get to Shanghai are there any flights available, all booked. Being peak season and also quite close to Chinese New Year the airline staff member told me that most flights had been booked out for months. Bugger. Well, it was worth a try.

I headed back to the hotel for a trial pack, just to make sure that everything still fits. I don't know how I manage to do it but as I get further along in my trip either my load is decreasing and I am leaving things here and there and not noticing or my pack is growing, because every time I pack I seem to have more room! Needless to say I have plenty of room in my bag which is good, room enough for all my souvenirs that I am yet to buy! After this I headed to the bank and the post office, and almost came back 0 for 2. When I got to the Bank of China atm it had no money, I tried two other banks and my card wasn't accepted and just when I gave up I saw another one and was successful in this attempt: 1 for 1. I then headed to the post office to post my fancy Uighur knives (I do like these knives) but was unable to find the international section and the LP which suggested it was upstairs was useless once again as the stairs were inaccessible due to a very large steel door being padlocked in front of them, and everyone else in the post office either didn't udnerstand me or didn't want to help. Dejected and confused as to what to do now I headed back to the hotel: 1 for 2. I am still not sure what I am going to do with these knives, I realise they are just knives, but for some reason I really like them. I am reluctant to pack them in my bag to send later on as I fear what the repercussions may be at the border crossing if my bag is searched and the knives are found. Are you allowed to take knives over the border? Would I be fined (pay a bribe)? Would I be refused entry? In the end I think I am going to have to give the knives away or simply leave them behind.

After the trial pack I headed to the supermarket to buy provisions for the bus (the LP says it takes two days! And that you need food and water for that amount of time or possibly longer if stopped at the border or the pass isn't open!). Not knowing what the hell I could take that would be suitable for breakfasts, lunches and dinner on the bus I bought a few things but am still unsure whether I have enough or the rght stuff. Time will tell. My bus leaves at 8am Xinjiang time (10am Beijing time) and I am unsure as to waht to expect, if it does indeed take two days I guess you will hear from me on the 9th!

In the evening I headed to my favourite restuarant and had the usual and then I came here and that has been my lazy last day in Kashgar.

Sorry about the detoriation in the spelling and grammar lately, I have been slack I know but please bear wth me. Once again thankyou to everyone for reading and for all the fantastic comments I have been getting lately, you are awesome. Wish me luck for the bus trip!

Matt out

END TRANSMISSION


Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0496s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb