From “The Land of The Stan’s” to “The Roof of the World”


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
August 14th 2011
Published: August 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

So it’s the eve of my last full day in China (not counting all my upcoming airport time!) and I realise the blog has been a bit neglected. We encountered a bit of internet frustration since the last post so I’ve decided to give you now a quick snap shot of what we’ve been up to then when I get back home I will back post with all the glorious details.

After our restful stop at Heaven Lake we had another night back in Urumqi before catching an overnight sleeper train (we paid a commission to make sure we could get tickets) to Kashgar/Kashi. Amazingly remote and as un-Chinese as you could imagine. I’ll hold all the good stuff for later but basically we spent 3 days wandering around the old city, full of mosques and ancient mud-brick alleys. We knick-named the town The Land of the Stans because it is full of such ethnic diversity, from the local Uighers to nomadic Krygkzs and Tajiks as well as Pakistani & Russian traders. We look one day trip along the great Karakoram Highway to the second highest lake in the world, Karakul Lake.

Now we are in Tibet and have both fallen in love with the place; the people, food, aromas, shopping, weather, history, scenery….everything is amazing and that’s all I’m going to give you for now 

So stayed tuned and I will go back and tell you much much more about wonderful Kashgar and of course Lhasa.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0588s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb