Tibet - we made it!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
March 29th 2006
Published: March 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Lhasa!
We made it here after a 4am start this morning and it's the best place I've ever been. Bright blue sky and sun (have managed to get comedy sunburn on my nose, so locals think I'm even more of a hilarious sight than usual now). There are random Tibetan pilgrims everywhere - they are walking next to you one minute and the next minute they have prostrated themselves on the floor. They also all have really cool spinning wheel things on sticks and great outfits (will try to attach some pictures).
We had a lovely yak Stroganoff for lunch and Indian curry for dinner. Hoping to organise a landcruiser and driver and head off on a 6 day trip to Everest base camp tomorrow. So far no altitude sickness, everything's just a bit floaty.
For the people who are travelling behind me through China, it's really easy to organise the trip to Tibet. Just go to Sam's guest house in Chengdu and the travel agency there will give you a one way flight, permit and airport transfer for 1900 RMB (130 pounds). It's really worth coming - so far I prefer it to Nepal and we're getting really clear views of the mountains.
Also, we saw PANDAS in Chengdu. They were great - they seem to have a very nice life lying round eating. Wanted to buy one, but we had to make do with the soft toy version instead.
Will try to update my China blogs while we're here - strangely everything seems to be much easier now we;re out of China - people really helpful and smiley and decent intenet connection - hooray!
P.S. think I'm having some problems with my yahoo account - not sure all messages are getting through, so sorry if I haven't been replying! (might be better to leave any messages on the blog for me)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0469s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb