The last hurdle?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tibet » Lhasa
August 12th 2008
Published: August 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OK, so after many, many e-mail messages and reviews and explanations, I am set for my trip to Tibet. Apparently, I have to go as a member of an official tour group. But I will be a group of one. I think this is a peculiarity that the Chinese insist on. I will have a guide with me when I visit Lhasa, Gyantse and Shigatse. From my other readings, some of these guides are completely useless and nothing more than Chinese government employees mostly paid to make sure I only go where I am supposed to go and that I don't go to places they don't want me to go.
I am concerned about the altitiude and how my body will react. I will have 2 days in Lhasa to acclimatize before proceeding further. A reassuring feature of the hotels is that they provide oxygen to all guests. And I thought hot and cold running-water was a luxury!

Only 2 months to go......

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb