Procrastination...am I cured?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
June 2nd 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

We went to visit the Motorola Factory today.

That place was CLEAN.

I would have licked the floors. If I had an infectious disease, I would have asked to be transported to that factory instead of a hospital. It was that clean. And they had western toilets and the newest cell phones on display.

I really liked it. I liked how they had a cafeteria for their employees, how they had a clinic for employees needing health services. I was impressed. Not sure if this is because Nankai University wants to put their best food forward and show us the best parts of China. I'm sure there are terrible working conditions and good working conditions (just like in the USA). But I'm glad that there is progress, and a place like this existed.

Then our group went to visit the Tianjin Port. It was pretty cool to see first hand how goods get shipped over from China to other countries. The port is massive, and the equipment was impressive. I'll never look at a freight ship the same way again. It never occurred to me that my cousin's businesses utilized ships as big as these until I came here today.

Tonight I decided it was time to start working on my final presentation for class. Two days early. I think I have finally cured myself of procrastination. Is it the working world that did this to me? Probably not. It's probably because I'm in Tianjin and I have no TV or Jason to distract me.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb