Last night here


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
June 4th 2010
Published: June 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last night here.

I can't believe it's over, and I wonder what the homesickness was all about anyhow.

I won't deny it's a combination of relief and nostalgia though. Three weeks was one heck of a trip for me.

Heading to Guangzhou tomorrow to visit my grandma and some relatives. I haven't seen them in five years, and I am so, so, so very excited. They will pick everything about me to pieces and then proceed to spoil me to death after I had my self esteem completely crushed by their criticism. It's the Asian way.

We made our final presentations today and I did mine on Tobacco in China. Back to the roots of my smoking cessation days. I can't even begin to describe how much I've learned about this country, it's pros and cons, faults and strengths, culture and calamities.

What amazes me are the kindnesses of the many student volunteers who have taken us everywhere and been our faithful translators. It could not have been easy baby sitting us crazy Americans.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb