Day 8@POPCH


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Tianjin
February 27th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Day 8 and the final day of our work at POPCH was a happy moment for us. Mee Lar has managed to get her Tianjin friends, a lovely Christian couple to help us source for milk bottles, bibs and together with the towels that she has bought earlier, we were able to give the whole lot of over 100 milk bottles of two different sizes to Xiao Liu from World Vision, Tianjin.

Being very meticulous, she has actually ensured that the bottles were suitable by asking her friend to drop by at the POPCH sometime earlier in the week to make sure that they are suitable for the children.

It is indeed with grateful heart that I will like to say "Thanks" to all my team members who have gone out of the way to make the whole 11days at POPCH very meaningful.

To Xiao Lui, the ever cheerful and smiling administrator who is always ready to assist us - I am thankful to have known you and kudos to your dedication to your work.

To Mee Lar - thanks for being meticulous, purposeful and diligent - without your diligence, I am sure we will not have gotten a good deal for the milk bottles, bibs as you have gone the extra mile to make sure that the $ donated by my friends and of course you n Amanda, stretch to the max!

To Arlene - thanks for your "motherly" love and care - your Tang yuan is very delicious..tho' I would have love a sweeter version of the soup..ha ha

To Amanda - your patience and love for the children, including your resourcefulness in getting the cranes up - speaks volumes of your love for the children...

To Diana - my team mate and also a "siao" person to be around - thanks for tolerating my nonsense and being patient with me.

To Anne- our youngest team member - you may say you are "blur" and also "sotong" but when it comes to giving your time and efforts for the children, you never stinge on your love and care for them.

To the 3 HK staff who came all the way to be part of this great team...thanks for showing me what love and dedication is 😊

and most of all, to God be the glory for showing me this
Bibs for POPCHBibs for POPCHBibs for POPCH

with a waterproof underside
part of China, bringing about new experiences for me to have fun and learn and also to stretch me beyond my comfort zone...learning to treasure each child in the home and each teacher/nanny as a person that is created by Him for his glory!

It is indeed a most wonderful week and a memorable time.

Many people has said that we are kind to be giving our time, but I can assure you that the one who benefit the most was myself - from learning to hold the hands of these children, to playing games with them as well as knowing that God has a role for each of the children in the home - they are not a mistake or a mishap - but a purpose for me to learn about the love of God in deeper way.

More pix at


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Milk bottles for POPCHMilk bottles for POPCH
Milk bottles for POPCH

two sizes - 140 ml and 250 ml
Tasting, buying, bargaining...Tasting, buying, bargaining...
Tasting, buying, bargaining...

the ladies had a good time haggling over the prices for souvenirs to bring home..
The glamorous Chestnut "seller"The glamorous Chestnut "seller"
The glamorous Chestnut "seller"

She was on TV! Tianjin is famous for their chestnuts and Xiao Liu brought us to a good stall to let us have a try at these great stuff...i ended up buying 5 katis for my family!
The ChestnutsThe Chestnuts
The Chestnuts

At 11RMB per kati, you really can't complain for top grade chestnuts...which my niece was happily chomping away on the day I arrive:)


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0806s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb