pinch punch first day of the month and no returns...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
October 1st 2006
Published: October 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Iona, me and DarylIona, me and DarylIona, me and Daryl

..at Carol's Too, for Ally's birthday
Aah is it October already? Means I've been in China nearly 2 months!

Us 'laoshi' went out last night to celebrate Ally's birthday at Carol's Too, a bar on Renmin Nan Lu, yep, bit of a meat market (i.e. some old Western dudes picking up cute Chinese girls, depressingly, with success) but there was a promotion on and a free bottle of wine for the birthday girl, so....what you gonna do?

So a great time was had by all...there was even a massive birthday cake for Ally to share amongst the punters and many a glowstick to be had...of course there were a few casualties of the night, namely Sarah who went home not far after midnight having had a few too many tequilas and not enough food (line your stomach people!!) but hey, a party's not a party without at least someone being sick!

The night did not end well i.e. I realised that my wallet had been nicked probably on the bus on the way into town. Luckily I didn't have much cash on me but all my cards were in there eg youth card, UK bank card and Chinese bank card. I managed to call
Felicity, me and AliceFelicity, me and AliceFelicity, me and Alice

...yep, we're very mature (well, glowsticks brings out the child in you)
my bank in the UK via Skype and cancel my card, and although the Chinese may be disorganised in many things, banking is not one of them! I went to the bank today, just one on the corner of where I live, and within 20 mins I had a new account, checked that none of my money in there had been taken out by the thief and had a new card. Unlike bloody UK who send you stuff 'within 5 working days'. Love China! Anyway, so hahahahaha to the thief whoever you are. You only got 50 kwai off me! (and my v cute monokuroboo purse but never mind)

After teaching yesterday (yes, Saturday would u believe) we are finally going on holiday! to Songpan, in the mountains, to do some horse-trekking, camping and generally get out of the city. Will write next week when I come back, if I can still walk (horse riding makes your bum and thighs extremely sore!!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0217s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb