too many things to mention...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 21st 2006
Published: September 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


I should really be in bed at past 11pm when I have a lesson to teach tomorrow, but never mind...

What awaited me as I logged in to this blog? Oh joy, a lovely message from some random in 'text speak' saying something like 'HELOOO I SEE YOUR MESSAGE YOU ARE SO SWEEET EMAIL ME' or some crap like that. Hmmm, somehow I think not. What is it with some people? Blogging or having an email address in fact does not mean you want to have some kind of action, virtual or otherwise!

Anyway. Aahh, the sights and sounds of China. We have a market near our school, and what did we see yesterday? Dried creatures who originally came from the sea. What looked like baby turtles, snakes, and....tiny seahorses. Yep, they're endangered. I'm guessing they'll end up in someone's soup...well at least it won't be mine, that's for sure. Poor things! As we walk to school we also see a number of pigeons/ducks/chickens (sometimes kept together in the same cage) while their friends are being killed, plucked, generally gutted. The live ones were pretty quiet. Did they know their fate? Then on the way home, every night I see a different part of a pig that I could eat for dinner should I so wish. Trotters, tail, and yesterday...pig's snout!! Mmmm. I may succumb later on but for now, I'll stick with the relatively normal looking stuff.

Despite all the weird looking food and soon-to-be-dead animals/fish you see, the food here is excellent and I know if I go back to the UK in a year's time (hopefully not) I'll really miss the food as 1) there's so much of it! How do the Chinese stay so slim? 2) There's so much variety 3) It's so cheap 4) I could go on..... and I reckon Sichuanese food is the best in China, well that's what everyone says! And being an honourary Chengdu-an (and recently a resident of China, yep, fully legal) I have to agree....on another blog I'll have to detail good places to eat for anyone coming to Chengdu....especially the places that have pictures so you can just point!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 58; dbt: 0.074s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb