School and Teaching...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 19th 2006
Published: September 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ok so I am teaching here at a School in Chengdu for a year. It is called 'Chengdu Experiemental Foreign Languages School'. Its based out by the North West of Chengdu city centre but I am mostly based out at their spare campus out even further four days of the week. I am teaching 16 classes a week and I am doing 2 sessions of English corner a week or fortnight as well. Not sure about the English corner rota yet but knowing my luck it is weekly.

Not that bad a set up our flat is off campus which means we don't get woken up at 6 am in the morning by load music. There is however someone in our block making annoying tapping noises as if they are fixing something. I share with another teacher Claire who I came here with through the British Council. We both have pretty big rooms each, a large living room, a wee kitchen and a bathroom. Pretty nice pad I have to say. Only have a few bug bears with it.

Anyway I am basically typing this post as I cannot be bothered planning a lesson for my Juniors this week. I caught the Cold of Claire who got it off the kids. Goes with the territory I suppose. I had the Seniors today and some of them were great but the not so responsive classes I just didn't have the energy for because of the cold situation. Where is a hot toddy when you need one?! I did a game...my usual intro formula and then did a lesson on Scotland. We didn't get very far but I managed to teach a bunch of them how to count in Scottish Gaelic. I am sure that will be of absolutely no use but it got them interested and talking in English so its a start.

So what to do with the Juniors? I did the body last week so I am not sure if I should move onto adjectives or just do something completely random.

Anyway I am off to avoid doing planning some more by either sleeping or playing Sonic.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb