Sunday in Chengdu


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
May 29th 2011
Published: May 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The flight from Hong Kong to Chengdu was uneventful. The flight was full as usual and the Chengdu airport unexpectedly busy. It was After leaving the airport it was 2:00 before I got to the apartment and slept like the dead until 9:00 the next morning. Saturday was busy with looking at art and meeting old friends. The first thing I did in the morning was to look at a beautiful Palpung style painting of the mountain god Nyen Chen Thanglha. If every morning could start that way...

The afternoon was spent first with having lunch in a coffee shop which progressed into a second location - a tea shop. More people joined our party with the venue also changing into my favourite Tibetan restaurant followed by more than a few beer at a local street cafe in a tourist district. The night started off peacefully but later in the evening a massive thunder storm came through with torrential rains and constant lightning. The awning above our large table was barely able to keep us all dry. At midnight we finally ran for cabs to take us somewhere dry - thus concluded the evening which I am sure could have gone longer.

Sunday was a late start and again we had lunch in my Tibetan restaurant of choice. It helps when you are friends with the owners. Lunch was followed by a tea shop with endless hours of looking at an I-pad and Tibetan art. I was exhausted afterwards. Dinner was at a Hainan restaurant with a meal of chicken and duck with lots of bones along with beef and chili peppers. It was very hot and the bones were very annoying. Not my favourite food. I am longing for Sichuan pepper. Tomorrow will be an early start in the morning - I have a meeting to plan my teaching schedule.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0832s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb