Brief Note-Tibet


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 24th 2009
Published: September 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

For those of you wondering or perhaps keeping track of news about China, the 60th anniversary of the formation of the PRC is steadily enchroaching. We all get a week off from the 1st of October to the 8th or 9th....no classes, no school---a massively chaotic time where everyone will be celebrating (with parades and giant floats in Beijing) and running around to all the places they normally don't have time to go to during this time of year. Of course this was also the time set aside for us to go to Lhasa in Tibet. NOT so suprisingly (though no less dissapointing all the same) given the significance behind such a holiday and the beginning to the 6th decade, Tibet is closed to travelers. We were informed of this on Tuesday which meant that we only had a week and a half to prepare an alternative group trip. I know I am not alone in my sadness at missing such a chance to go to Tibet (I was so excited over the concept of being on the Roof of the World and of course seeing the stark beauty with my own eyes)...
Other than my personal reasons for wanting to go to Lhasa, the purpose of the trip was to encounter some of the problems and tensions that we are studying in out Western China (a study of cultural/ethnic minorities) class. Though we have yet to hear the final word on things, it sounds like we will be going into Western Sichuan and Yunan province--visiting small villages and towns--instead. Though my leel of excitement is not as high as it was for the prospect of Lhasa, I am looking forward to our trip. As long as I can get away from some of the smog and eat different and interesting food I will be content...How's that for simple and easy to please?
Still, a small portion of me will always regret missing the chance to go to Lhasa....I suspect it will cling to me--whispering into my ear and in general being a nuisance--until the day I manage to grab at the chance to go there.
Other than going to classes and cramming as much into my head as possible, my biggest concern for the coming holiday is buying some warm clothing so I don't freeze in all my summer garb.
Hopefully I can snag a couple hours this weekend to write in more detail...for now, I'm done.



Advertisement



25th September 2009

Lhasa
Mal, I LOVE your entries, they are hilarious to read! I really wish I was there with you. But hey--this just means we can travel to Tibet together sometime. I desperately want to go, so let's plan a trip. It'd be hilarious to travel with you, in any case. Love you! Caroline

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0498s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb