Stifling heat and humidity and rest is really never quite restful


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
August 24th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I was totally unprepared for the 70 to 90% humidity in Chengdu. It rains most every day in summer and you rarely see the sun. While we walking through the Sanxingdui Museum the other day, Alex remarked how unusual it was to see the sun shine in summer and that I must have brought it with me from Phoenix. Obviously, I was not happy to see the sun because coupled with the humidity, it was very draining. On this day however, we only had rain. The humidity means that I only need to walk a block before I am sweating and just to get a taxi, we must walk about 4 blocks. We are staying about 40 minutes from Chengdu and by the time we get there, it is time for lunch.

After lunch, we are looking at the proofs of the wedding photos taken the other day on the computer but they are simply the raw photos and they are very good. Lisa has to choose which photographs she wants in various forms (book, prints, mounted prints, etc.) This company obviously specializes in post production, obviously much retouching with photoshop but their 'books' and mounted prints are absolutely top quality. If you have any interest, you can see their web site at http://hdphoto.cn/

Like the marathon photo session the other day, picking the photos from the proofs takes a few hours and we then head off to get a foot massage. The massage studio is about a mile away and in the stifling heat, I am soaking wet with sweat but along the way, I am happy to spot a shop that sells towels because each day, I have not had anything larger than a face cloth to dry with after a shower. So I am treated to what they call a foot massage and it is clear to me that the biggest strongest boy has picked the short straw and gotten me.

He begins on my back and I am asked if I want hard or soft. I chose hard and he begins to massage my shoulders as hard as I have ever felt and it is good. Then he starts with my feet by having me soak them in a tea bath. He grabs a tool box and begins to cut my toenails which was very much needed as I forgot to cut them before I left for China and I did feel them in one of my shoes. But he is struggling to cut my first big toenail which is incredibly thick and takes a small chunk of skin. I don't say anything to him because I knew he did it by accident. He was more careful after that and after cutting my nails, I then get a foot massage which included him digging his nails into the bottom of my feet so deeply (remember, I said hard) and I almost said softer which would have been completely out of character for me. I think he was surprised because he could see my face and knew hard hard he was digging into me, first on my back and then on my feet but I just let him do it. Lisa said the boy who gave her the massage was not doing it hard enough afterward.

It is now dinner time but I am not really very hungry but we go to an outdoor Korean grill which is nestled under a canopy. As we sit there and start cooking, the wind shifts and I am given a blast of smoke and propane from the grill and I cannot breathe. Then a minute later, I get another lung full of propane and smoke and I cannot sit there so I shift to a seat on the other side of the table. But now I am hyper-sensitive and the next lungful of propane makes me really sick so I go searching for fresh air and I cannot sit at the table for fear of another breath of propane. I guess I don't understand how people can deal with such noxious fumes. I didn't have an appetite to begin with but after a few lungfuls of the propane,

What should have been a restful day left me exhausted and sick and unready for what was to come the next day.

天气闷热,湿度和休息,是不是真的很宁静

我完全没有准备在成都的70至90%的湿度。下雨几乎每天在夏季,你很少看到太阳。虽然我们通过三星堆博物馆走一天,亚历克斯表示不寻常的是如何看的阳光照耀的,我必须带来了凤凰我。很显然,我不乐意看到的,因为与湿度加上太阳,这是非常排水。然而在这一天,我们只有雨。湿度意味着我只需要步行一段,我之前阻止出汗,只是为了让出租车,我们必须步行约4块。我们不走约40分钟,从成都的时候,我们到达那里,现在是午餐时间。

午饭后,我们现正研究采取计算机上的其他一天的婚礼照片的证据,但他们仅仅是原始照片和他们都是很好的。琳霏有选择的照片,她希望以各种形式(书籍,印刷品,安装打印等),这家公司显然专业的后期制作,显然是修饰与Photoshop但他们的'书',并进行打印,绝对一流的质量。如果您有任何兴趣,你可以看到他们的网站上http://hdphoto.cn/

像马拉松照片会议日前,接领证据的照片需要几个小时,然后阻止我们获得足部按摩。按摩室是在一英里外,在天气闷热,我用汗水浸泡,但前进的道路上,我很高兴地发现一个商店,销售毛巾,因为每一天,我没有湿脸以外的任何较大的布干燥后淋浴。因此,我欣赏到他们所谓的足部按摩,显然对我来说,最大最强的男孩选择了短秸秆和变得我。

他开始在我背上,我问我是否要硬或软。我选择了努力,他开始按摩我的肩膀一样努力过,因为我觉得这是好的。然后,他开始通过让我浸泡在茶浴他们与我的脚。他抓一个工具箱,并开始把我的这是非常需要的脚趾甲,我忘了降息之前,我离开中国,我的确感到在我的鞋子他们。但他正努力把我的第一个大脚趾这是令人难以置信的厚度,并采取一小块皮肤。我没有对他说什么,因为我知道他是偶然的。他更细致的切割后的和我的指甲,然后我得到一个足部按摩,其中包括他挖掘到我的脚底他的指甲深深(记住,我说硬)和我差不多说疲软将已经完全出我的性格。我觉得他很惊讶,因为他能看到我的脸,知道他是很难很难挖了我,首先我的背部,然后在我的脚下,但我只是让他去做。琳霏说,男孩是谁给了她按摩是很难做得不够之后。

现在是吃饭时间,但我不是真的很渴望,但我们去户外韩国烧烤这是坐落在一个天篷。当我们坐在那里,并开始做饭,风的变化,我给了烟和烧烤,我不能呼吸丙烷爆炸。然后,一分钟后,我收到其他肺部充满了丙烷和烟雾,我不能坐在那里,所以我转向对桌子对面就座。但我现在高度敏感和未来的丙烷 lungful使我真的病了,所以我去寻找新鲜的空气,我不能在桌子坐另一丙烷气的恐惧。我想我不知道为什么人们会处理这类有毒气体。我没有胃口,首先,但后几lungfuls丙烷,

什么应该是一个放松的一天离开我精疲力竭,生病是什么来第二天还没做好准备。

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb