Quick Update


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
July 3rd 2009
Published: July 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Sichuan!

I'm currently on the slowest computer in Chengdu, but life is good. The city is quite nice and easy to get around. I've seen the pandas and yesterday I took a trip outside of the city to see the world's tallest Buddha. He's like the Grand Canyon of Buddhas, he's so big. And my reaction was quite appropriate--my jaw dropped. Today I lazed around and checked out the "old town" which is realy a new town built to look old. There was a monastery, too, and that was quite nice.

Tomorrow I head out for an 8 hour bus ride to a small town west of here. Well, small for China. I'm going to head west from there and out into the countryside. Tibet is no longer happening, so I'm going out in search of Tibetan life outside of Tibet. Hopefully I'll get to Tibet next year after I see Beijing in the summer.

Looking forward to countryside and lots more photo-taking. One memory card is full already, and I'm only half-way done! Don't worry, the journal is coming along, so there will be plenty of stories for you when I'm done. This trip just gets better and better by the day!

Cheers!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0479s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb