China Trip Journal - 11


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
October 21st 2008
Published: December 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

China Trip Journal - 11 ***

Tuesday, October 21, 2008
5:26 PM

So, since I was pretty upset last night with what ever I've learned so far in this two week stay in Chengdu China; I've decided to pretty much to stay in my room almost the whole day.

For at least five times that I've conducted some sort of a "service" test, and four out of five the results were obvious. They just don't understand that the service they provide have to have some consistency, and have to treat both male and female guests at the same level. Well, unless you're a total hot shot, maybe.

Today, I've notice a few Chinese male guests and the way they asked for something; maybe to get their check or another drink. They call out to the bar tenders as if they were deaf, then they gesture in a way where they lift one, sometimes both arms at the same time looking like they're shooing a fly away.

There are no difference between local/semi local men and women when it comes to approaching an attendant. I think one thing that I've also notice is that, both gender seem to treat attendants like crap and so service suffers as well.

The attendants would either try to approach them with a smile and they get shun off. Ignored or made them feel lower. So it seems like their reaction is based on how they are treated, and unfortunately it becomes a habit; almost a belief that guests have no respect for people serving them in general.

One thing I don't understand is that, is it just really cultural? Is this really how things work here? Why are Asian guests, both male and female act the way they do? Is it just misplaced pride due to some minimal financial advantages? I guess there maybe some truth in it...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0405s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb