Chengdu, China Trip Journal - 2 ***


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
October 8th 2008
Published: October 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

China Trip Journal - 2 ***

Wednesday, October 08, 2008
11:01 AM

So, this is the first day where T have to go to work while I'm here with him. We both woke up pretty early due to jet lag. We had breakfast at the hotel buffet and they do seem to have quite a selection of breakfast food. For sure I am not getting the "runny, half cooked" omelet any time soon. My stomach for some reason just did not like it at all! But, it all maybe in my head, so maybe next time but not in the next week or so.

Again, everyone in the hotel talked to me in Chinese. My problem; since English is my second language I had a hard time understanding someone with a strong accent. But I'll get use to it somehow. I did not feel comfortable at all when we had our breakfast. I feel separated, but approached not any different than the locals. Interesting…

I scheduled a Panda sightseeing for me tomorrow at 9-10am morning. Unfortunately, I will be going in a cab, whom the driver does not speak the English language at all. So I have to depend on giving the hotel card to the driver to take me back to my hotel. I'm actually worried and afraid at the same time. I don't know the language and there's a big possibility that frustration will hit me in the head with no warning. Worst case I might get stuck and have to call T for assistance, and he will be too busy to answer.

But, in any case I will have some fun and adventure to look forward to.

This is just so interesting!!! So like what I said, I am here at the hotel spending my time writing this trip journal of mine, and golly gee wiz! There's a lot of attendants that work at the hotel, and it's half empty. The waitress that's been serving me coffee seems nice and had ask where's Thomas. I guess my wonderful husband has been well accommodated by them and her and maybe another her, and her…

Currently, it's quite funny how noticeable the glances I receive from certain hotel attendants. I'm sure it's nothing, and it could just be some curiosity about me as well. LOL.

It's a nice big hotel with tons of attendants. $110 for a night, and our room is very nice. There's no way a deal like this will be easy to find in the U.S.

It's really interesting to see all the workers here, and their glances at me with questions in mind; then just walk away to keep on going with their business.

I feel a little more mellow now and seem to be having some weird fun. I am sort of enjoying the unknown. The separation. My curiosity on others and theirs on me. Now, I am taking in the difference in culture of this part of China compare to what I have learned in the U.S. and the Philippines.

Gosh! I am smoking more! And I'm suppose to quit. I guess we'll see as I continue this exciting and terrifying journey. ;-)

So, today my stomach hasn't been doing so well. I'm also hungry and don't know where else to go. There's definitely a French, Italian, and a Chinese restaurant, but I wasn't sure if the food is worth trying at this time. So I figured, I'm going to get room service, and just enjoy a quiet time in the room.
I ordered "Ma Fo Tofu" it's Sichuan dish with Tofu, minced beef, and some sauce and a bowl of rice. My stomach hurts, and I needed something substantial. There I was somewhat excited with my food since I'm so hungry, and couldn't keep anything down or in. The food arrived, and I stared at the bowl passing by me while the attendant place it in the table. I'm worried. "It's in a bowl!" but I figured, it could be worst "It's o.k. I have steam rice, anything will work." ENGGGG!!! My fear was then realized. It is bowl full of tofu, can't find the beef, spicy, and it's basically a quarter of the bowl was oil.

I was more in pain looking at the authentic Sichuan dish in front of me than just not having any lunch at all. It was the wrong dish for my stomach! What can I do? almost every dish on the menu are basically something I have to take a chance if I want food. So there I was, eating in agony. But, I was still trying to savor the Authenticity of the dish. Well that did not give me any joy nor fix my hunger and stomach pain. There was nothing that stayed in! I travelled the Jon about five to six time in a matter of hours. Sleep it off!

T came home from work. I was afraid to eat anything , but starving. So no food adventure for me anytime, until I can keep it in. I ordered a well done hamburger at the usual restaurant we eat at. One thing T forgot to tell me; the concept of "Well done" here does not exist. A medium rare ground beef burger here is something I don't look forward to. I ate the sides of the burger with knife and fork where I think it's fully cooked, then Thank goodness for French fries!!!…Thank goodness for potatoes!!! That was my solid meal since we arrived!

I guess I've been so spoiled in having a lot of choices in the U.S. So now, adjusting to little things seems more difficult. Not good!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.087s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb