Starting the travelblog... One year too late?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
September 25th 2008
Published: September 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

World MapWorld MapWorld Map

A source of both joy and frustration for all travelers...
The purpose of a travel blog varies from traveler to traveler. Some kep one as a thorough journal of where they go and what they do, and how much they pay. Some keep theirs as sort of an information source for others describing in great details the way they have negotiated the sometimes frustrating logistics of travel. Some focus on their thoughts and their feelings, with they places they have visited serving merely as a backdrop to a much more tumultuous inner journey. And still others just pick random and interesting topics to digress upon.

A travelblog though does not depend just upon the traveler, the type of trip plays a big role and a travel blog will surely develop differently depending upon the trip's length, places traveled, and perhaps more importantly the end destination, or lack thereof.

Finally there is the question of the audience. Is it for your family? Your friends? Your school? Your hometown? Other travelers? The World?
----

Some travelers don't keep a travelblog. My travels started for me on 5 AM on the 29th of September, 2007 leaving my flat in Brighton, United Kingdom. In four days I will have been away for an entire year. On this trip so far I have visited 16 countries on three continents and have traveleled overland without planes from England to southern China. Is it too late to start my travelblog?

My travels have not gone unrecorded. For the first six or seven months or so I maintained an almost day to day account on old-school pen and paper. That journal though, was slowly abandoned whilst living and working for 5 months in Shanghai and when I left (about 7 weeks ago) to return to the road I felt uninspired to continue that type of record. That journal has now become more of a creative writing book. Therefore, I feel the need to supplement my photographs, uploaded and viewed across the world, with some words. Perhaps this blog will become the fruit of a growing desire as a solo traveler to share my experiences with others.

I don't intend to give a detailed narrative covering the full extent of my travels. If I were to do that you would get bored and I would spend half my time at a computer. Rather, I think I will use this blog to simply write about what I fancy writing about. So deal with it.

Oh, and for those of you reading this who know me personally, I couldnt use my name because it was already taken. Doran has become a sort of pen name for me. The root meaning of the name is "wanderer".

---------------------
To subscribe to this travelblog simply click the "SUBSCRIBE" button to the left of this entry. You will then recieve an email with a link everytime Doran publishes a new travelblog.

For all of Doran's travel photos you may follow this link: Doran's Travel Photos

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb