Reflections of a First-Time English Teacher in China (including tips and lesson ideas for people headed down a similar path)


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
June 19th 2008
Published: June 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
Peace!Peace!Peace!

photo op after class.

Dear Ms. Halfmann
I heard that you'll not teach us next term, so I write this letter to you.
Now, I can still remember after the first class you taught, my classmates thought,
half a man + half an animal = Ms. Halfmann??!
(I'm sorry that's only a joke)
I like you very much, you are fantastic and you can make me happy all the time. Although unluckily, you'll go, I think we can keep contact by e-mail.
I'll miss you! You are always a good friend and teacher
Good Luck!
Yours, Spring.


(A farewell letter from Spring, class #3. I'm glad
the Half-mann, Half-?? joke is international)


I'd like to take this opportunity to thank my teachers. Teaching manages to be one of the most thankless and most rewarding jobs, simultaneously. My teaching experience here in China has been nothing short of eventful, and has taught me more than any job I've had thus far. For those of you who missed the first teaching post, I just finished 6 months teaching oral English to Junior 2 students (13/14yrs old). I had over 800 students, 14 class periods a week, 60 kids a class. Did I mention I don't speak Chinese?

I'm happy, no ecstatic, that my contract is over. It was no secret that this job was a challenge. There were weeks where I seriously considered whether or not I could manage the 5000RMB ($750) penalty for backing out of my contract early, and I uttered "I can't handle this ... job/student/country" more than a few times (under my breath of course). But as with many challenge completions, my sense of relief is accompanied by a feeling of accomplishment, and as I sit here with my contract finished and travels
Aerial ViewAerial ViewAerial View

Students returning to classes after their post-lunch nap.
ahead, it is a lot easier to remember the good things.

When it comes to learning English, Chinese students take 'eager' to a whole new level. I was repeatedly floored by my students' dedication to studying. In one of my extra classes I asked a student if she liked school, expecting the typical 13yr old's response "school's boring" with appropriate eye roll. Instead, she passionately told me how wonderful it is to learn, and that though school can be challenging, it is her duty as a 13yr old, to learn as much as she can. Her job is being a student, and she takes it very seriously. On Fridays I would ask students, "What will you do this weekend?" The overwhelming response was "have lessons". After a week of classes from morning to night, for my students, the weekend is the time for extra tutoring in math, science, English etc., and the time to study.

Despite language barriers and the overwhelming number of students, I experienced rewarding conversations and connections with many students which provided some incredible insights into the daily lives of Chinese families. Some of the more advanced students were eager to talk with me about
ElisaElisaElisa

Always knew her by her hair-clip and her ever-present smile.
the Clinton/Obama race as well as American perceptions of China. It was this topic that left me often tongue tied and always reflective.

What my students taught me.

Many of my students think that Americans don't like China and don't like Chinese people. I looked into the earnest face of a fourteen-year-old student one Tuesday night as he asked, "Why do Americans hate Chinese people Ms. Halfmann? How can we show America that we are indeed a good people?" an excerpt from a farewell letter showed a similar sentiment ...

I thought Americans said China was a wild country and Chinese people were black-hearted. In fact, we aren't. I hope when you reach your home, you'll tell them not. China is a charming country and Chinese are enchanting. I really want China and America to be friendly and close. We welcome the friends from all over the world. (Maybe China still has some faults, but please believe us, at least me, I'll do something)



There were so many things we could discuss; a complicated history, the power of propaganda (both Chinese and U.S.), and the political and economic relationships between our countries and others. Just one problem ... these are things I am still trying to sort out myself, and they are all way above the conversational level of my students.

So when this question arose, I thought the conversation couldn't go further. That both of us would leave unsatisfied and with questions unanswered. However, we didn't need advanced vocabulary or an accurate political timeline. Our simple conversation brought us to what seems like a simple revelation but
Class 6Class 6Class 6

Taken by Sarah during Laura and Sarah's visit.
is too often forgotten worldwide by governments, and travellers, and bombs. The simple revelation --- that behind every government you don't agree with, there is a country and a culture of people. Regular people. Grandmas, and brothers, and babies, and 14 yr olds who wonder why a nation hates them when they personally have done nothing wrong.
This was especially hit home during the earthquake aftermath, when American celebrities suddenly claiming BFF status with political/spiritual revolutionaries then writing off the deaths of 70,000 people as "karma" didn't exactly sit well with the millions without homes and the parents without children.

Among these more serious conversations, there were also lots of hilarious moments. During an activity, one student reasoned that pandas can't ride airplanes, not because they are pandas, but because they don't have passports, and one class went crazy when Simon actually won 'Simon Says'. My most successful lesson was the second to last week, where I played the class a pre-recorded commercial for a product endorsed by the famous Chinese film stars Hai Yue and Bai Ke di (me and Cody) then groups in class created their own commercials. The products were awesome, ranging from bags that you
View From BelowView From BelowView From Below

Taken from the first floor of my school. After the earthquake, all classes were moved down so students and teachers only occupied the bottom two levels.
can put anything into (including people) but never lose their shape, to tonics that make a person have super powers or never age, to many pens and pencils that guarantee good marks on tests (you can see where the priorities lie). I definitely recommend this lesson to any teachers reading.
















Advice for people thinking about teaching English in China.

Though many of my reflections about teaching have been positive, you must remember I am a bit of an optimist. I DO NOT recommend this situation to anyone, even experienced teachers. It wasn't a behavior problem, and I got along with my co-workers splendidly, there were just too many kids. I was doing the job of five or six oral English teachers. It was impossible to remember students, much less track progress and the only way to practice oral English is to SPEAK! An impossibility for a class of 60 unless they are repeating after you which isn't very practical for real-life conversation.

If you are on your way to China to teach English, there are better situations out there. If I were
Before ClassBefore ClassBefore Class

As usual, drawing pictures on the board ... I used lots and lots of pictures ...
going to teach oral English again, I would teach at a university which is less demanding, or do private one-on-one tutoring which can actually be more lucrative. I would also make sure that the school provided rough lesson-plans/guidelines - much of my woe was over having no idea what I was supposed to teach the students. This could also be solved by getting TOEFL certification or getting some training in teaching English as a second language. I was a touch under-qualified ... If you don't get these things, you will be OK, you'll get through it, but having experience/guidance may save you a lot of grief.

Successful Lessons

Guess Who - We reviewed facial characteristics (mustache, round face, hat, sunglasses, eyebrows) then the class used a handout on which I had drawn different faces to play the game 'guess who'.

Crime Witness - I told the class that last night they heard two thieves planning to steal something when the police came. The thieves ran away, but the police arrested them. In order to get out of jail, they had to remember everything they heard the thieves say (I drew diagrams of the situation on the board to help with understanding, I also drew a face behind bars and labeled it "YOU!"). I then wrote questions on the board and played a tape of the two thieves (me and Cody) plotting to steal a panda. We did three rounds of questions about the tape with each successful round lessening their sentence, until they were out of jail. Then the students made their own plot to steal something (with the disclaimer that stealing is wrong etc ... of course)

- Students enjoyed this because it was an activity that used simple English but was closer to their maturity/interest level. Sometimes it was easy to fall into the rut of games and activities that were appropriate for their English but not for their age.

Tongue Twisters - Everyone wants to master them. Use them for sounds that Chinese English speakers have trouble with, for my class the big ones were.
th - (thank not sank) -- This Thursday, the thin thief will thank her father.
su - (usually not uyually) --Usually, he measures the treasure for pleasure and leisure.
i - (hit not heet) --She hit her sister with a slim tin fish
u - (cup not
Guest TeacherGuest TeacherGuest Teacher

Looking on adoringly as Laura leads the class in a bear chase.
cop) --Fill the lucky truck with cups
Other good ones:
She who laughs last laughs best
If you call the wall will fall -- Illustrates difference between British and American pronunciation of 'all'


TV Commercials - As mentioned above, kids were really creative with this activity. Definitely provide a commercial as an example and emphasize that the commercial should be unique, for example:
NOT "Buy this hat because it is lovely"
BUT "Buy this hat because when you wear it, you can fly."


If the students know you care, they'll care what you know.



A wise quote given to me by a good friend that helped me through some of the tougher teaching moments and reminded me that the most important thing in any human interaction is showing people you care. Maybe my students' oral English didn't improve, or even got worse (they probably didn't need to know the meaning behind an outstretched middle finger ...) but I think they knew I cared about them, which is more valuable than any English lesson and is absolutely cross-cultural.

Thanks for reading, t'was a long one!
Stephanie


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Enquiring Minds Want to KnowEnquiring Minds Want to Know
Enquiring Minds Want to Know

The bathroom in my dorm, the definition of privacy ...
SaluteSalute
Salute

On the first day of each week, all teachers and students gather on the track for the raising of the Chinese flag. Students do this salute, but teachers don't for some reason.
Morning ExercisesMorning Exercises
Morning Exercises

Every morning the students form precise straight lines and take part in stretching, jogging, and some sort of trotting on the track as the PE teacher barks orders. Notice the rubber factory on the left ... the fumes made my break-period-runs a bit more challenging.
SingingSinging
Singing

For my last week I gave the students the lyrics to the song Unwritten along with my picture and e-mail address. The lyrics are inspirational, about making your own future and being yourself and whatnot, plus its on a shampoo commercial here so the students know it. This student knew alll the words and requested a sing-along after class. I was happy to oblige.
Simon Says ...Simon Says ...
Simon Says ...

It became a running joke that I LOVE the game Simon Says so I had to play it during my last class. The winner received a fabulous Milwaukee or Wisconsin Keychain ( made in China). I believe this is "Simon says touch your chin -- not shin, chin"
My AngelMy Angel
My Angel

Angel from class 4. She really struggled with her oral English but always came running to meet me in the hall or after class to use the little English she knew. She was one of my favorites.
In ActionIn Action
In Action

probably saying something dorky. Notice my slanted chalkboard writing.
Tongue TwistersTongue Twisters
Tongue Twisters

What a sport - she tackled "Usually, she measures the treasure for pleasure and leisure"
Love This ClassLove This Class
Love This Class

These kids were always ready to be creative. I'll miss them.
Celebrate!Celebrate!
Celebrate!

A celebration dinner after my last day at Namaste restaurant in Chengdu, complete with palak paneer and a tiny Chinese Margarita.


19th June 2008

You did great
I guess if you're only half man, you must be half animal, at least from a Chinese perspective with less gender distinctions. Or tell them Half man, half woman, now that would surprise them! Since in one being a balance of these aspects called male and female is healthy. Great blog and great job...you did way more successful activities than me, and do not doubt their english improved, regardless of the content you taught, which, doubtless, was better than what many chinese students receive. And they are fortunate to have one who cares.
19th June 2008

Wow!
Wow Stephanie. Amazing! Congratulations on finishing and enjoy your travels! Drew
19th June 2008

congrats
i may have just sent you a comment that said "CONGRATS" because i prematurely hit the return key. anyway, what it meant to say was "CONGRATS on being done teaching!" such a wonderful feeling! especially after all that you went through! even though you have decided that teaching is not for you, i am impressed with some of your very creative lessons! i especially loved the guess who game--so great! hope to talk to you soon! enjoy your summer of travels! :)
19th June 2008

Teaching with "heart"
What a great blog, Stephanie! And such creative lessons. I loved the commercial idea and Get Out of Jail game. Great photos of the students. The Halfmann joke was extra funny because just a while before I read your blog Dad had asked me if I had ever thought of changing my last name because editors might find it strange. Well, at least it's always a conversation-starter--no matter what country you're in apparently. Have fun traveling. You deserve a vacation! Love ya!
20th June 2008

Congratulations on a job well done :)
Stephanie: This was wonderful to read. Teaching is hard enough when everyone speaks the same language. It looks like you really made the most of your experience, and that you and your students benefited immensely. Bravo! Happy travels! Hi Cody! :)
22nd June 2008

nice work
This is an amazing blog! I know you say you are an optimist, but with 60 kids a class, the fact that you share their successes and their character so intimately shows how you really personally connected with all those students! Even with a language barrier! I could read this blog over and over- it is very funny and touching. Thanks for including your "successful lesson plans" section :) Your activism concerning the earthquake is also touching and inspirational- you have really made your trip to China mean so much to many people, not just yourselves. You and Cody are beautiful people and I think of you often. Love, Elycia
25th June 2008

teacher of the year
All I can think of is the impact you had on those hundreds of kids, to say nothing of their impact on you. Good, bad, difficult, easy, fun, challenging--you did it, and you have changed many lives with your work there. You are truly a special lady.
27th June 2008

Cheetahs or Cheetos?
Stephie- I'm so proud of you! You've been so creative with the games and activities which is quite impressive considering your lack of training and experience in the field. Did you find yourself spending all of your down time planning lessons? Is Cody still alive and well? I want pictures and stories about all of your other adventures. Check out Peder Engelstad's facebook for photos of our past weekend in Minnesota. We all miss you and Cody much.
29th June 2008

Yeay!!
Steph- Congratulations on being done! This is a great post. Thank you guys for taking the time to fill us in on all your adventures. Happy travels! We miss you guys. Love, Pam
1st July 2008

teaching and the Chinese
Stephanie, such an immense project - teaching 800 students a week who's language you did not speak! And, an awe-inspiring completion of this grand task. Having visited China, I found I love the beautiful people and country. As you discovered, they are warm, curious, loving - and left an indelible imprint on you, as you left on them. Sad to think of all the years of one's life the propaganda made them evil - instead of the regime. Happy continued travels Stephanie and Cody.
15th July 2008

Thanks for the warm fuzzies!
Hey there, You don't know me, but I just found your blog by accident while doing research for a training on China I'm doing (I'm a cross cultural trainer in Chicago). I taught English at a Shanghai university from '04-'06 and your blog brought back many fond memories for me. Anyway, just wanted to thank you for that, fellow China-English-teacher! : ) Rebecca P.
22nd July 2008

hiU r a great teacher
dear friend ,I've changed my name into Ivy.U r ever ready to make ur class interesting and lively.U 've found so many materials and even recorded funny dialogues with Cody to let students practise.As a teacher here in China,I learn from ur devotion and i shall say 'thank u'

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0854s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb