Some help for the earthquake victims


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
May 31st 2008
Published: May 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

In the last a few days I have found a few local families to whom I have provided some financial help. A total of 900 yuan ($135) was given to two families who have had their houses damaged during the earthquake. Their houses are leaking water but they are unable to fix them because they don't have the money.

Today I meet a man called Mr Kong from Dujiangyan, which is still closed to the outside. I learned his story from other reliable people and know he is in a desperate situation. His family is living in a tent, and both his parents are in the hospital, one was injured from the earthquake, the other is dying from cancer. Mr Kong is no longer working so he can care for both parents full time. He has a 7 year old son and it seems life cannot get worse than this. I gave him 5000 yuan ($750). I hope the money provided can offer him some hope to get back on his feet.

Tomorrow morning I am heading to Chengdu with my sister. Red Cross China desperately needs a helping hand as 10,000 tents have arrived at the airport. I will go with my sister and check out the situation.

Bob

Thanks to friends and families who have donated generously,
Current balance of the fund: Aud$954 or 6,300 Yuan
Amount spent so far: Aud$2,787 or 18,400 yuan
For donation details please refer to Day 1’s blog.
Please subscribe to the blog to receive the latest updates


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb