Rebuilding Begins in the Country Side


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Sichuan » Chengdu
May 28th 2008
Published: May 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello from the countryside


I have safely arrived at the countryside after 2.5 hours drive from the city of Chengdu. It appears Chengdu escaped the earth quake largely unscathed. I did start to notice lots of aid trucks, ambulances and military personnel as I was getting deeper into the disaster area though.

Travelling around is restricted because of fears about disease, our house has been sprayed with disinfectant twice already. The village leader came to our house last night and told us there will be another spraying tomorrow. She became the first person through whom I provided a 2000 yuan ($300) donation to the village to help begin rebuilding damaged homes.

Travel to Dujiangyan is not permitted, thousands died there with many still buried. Dujiangyan is the nearest town to our country house, about 20mins drive away. I have heard stories about people coming out of the areas so traumatised that they are unable to eat. Smells of decomposed bodies and disease become a big concern, it looks like I will not be able to go there to help and my movement will be restricted to near our country house.

My parents have spent the last couple of weeks sleeping in a tent. There was another big after shock yesterday, apparently I slept right through it and did not even notice.

Across the road, bull dozers and trucks from other parts of China arrived a few days ago; farmland was flattened to make way for the construction of 3000 temporary houses for local affected people. The scenic Dragon Valley 10mins away where we used to go hiking has largely disappeared as the result of two mountains being pushed together. No one dares to climb the mountain anymore, as all the rocks are loose from the earth quake. Sadly, my favourite outing in the country will no longer be possible. Villages near the mountain have been completely flattened. The people affected will move into the temporary houses across the road but I am not sure what will be in store for them in the long term.

Thanks for all the donations I have received from people in China. I will not be able to check my bank account from now on, so if you are not individually thanked, please allow me the time until I get home to Australia. Any additional funds received will be transferred to my parents to hand out to more farmers in the area. Today a further 500 yuan ($80) was provided to a local villager to assist with re-establishing themselves.


Bob
Thanks to friends and families who have donated generously,
Current balance of the fund: Aud$3,720 or 24,700 Yuan
Amount spent so far: Aud$380 or 2,500 yuan
For donation details please refer to Day 1’s blog.
Please subscribe to the blog to receive the latest updates.





Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

construction workers for temp homeconstruction workers for temp home
construction workers for temp home

I think thye need better OHS here, they were covered in dust.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.032s; cc: 14; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0648s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb