Arriving in Lucheng


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanxi » Pingyao
October 31st 2012
Published: October 31st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Taiyuan AirportTaiyuan AirportTaiyuan Airport

This made me laugh as there was cellophane on the toilet seat on some sort of conveyor belt device.
Coming out of Tiayuan airport I have to say my first impression on Shanxi was ’brown’. Autumn is in full swing here with all the fields filled with various crops ready for harvest. The principle of the school I will be working at come to meet me at the airport along with a driver…I still don’t know his name as the principle only referred to him as ‘driver’. The journey to the school (and my dormitory) was about 2 and a half hours as well as a brief stop for food despite me saying I wasn’t hungry as I had eaten on the plane. Once we arrived the first difference I noticed from Yangshuo was that it was cold…as in put a winter jacket on it’s cold. This didn’t really bother me as it was what I expected. The Shanxi province is pretty far north practically in Mongolia. It did however bother me when I found out that the heating doesn’t get switched on until the 15thNovember. A slight annoyance as it gets below 0 Celsius at night already here.

I was given half an hour to ‘rest’ and wash up and then I was to meet the principle and
BedroomBedroomBedroom

It's a bit of a mess.
‘driver’ again for dinner. This proceeded to be what must be one of the most awkward dinners I have ever had. It consisted of me, the principle and the ‘driver’ and then later on another man joined us he was introduced as the headmaster…I’m not quite sure what the difference between the principle and the headmaster is. So it was just me a three Chinese men two of which couldn’t speak English and since I can barely speak any mandarin the conversation on my part was awkward. There were various dishes served all of which I had no input in selecting (the principle ordered for everyone). Generally the food was good however the quantity was a bit much. I felt like I was being force fed. The excuse being I had to eat well so that I don’t catch a cold I better be completely healthy so I don’t end up looking stupid for refusing to eat my own body weight in Chinese food.

Once I’d finished I was returned to my ‘dormitory’/ apartment and I got to get a proper look around. On the whole it is very nice. It’s spacious and reasonably clean and well equipped. The
KitchenKitchenKitchen

With all the essentials except an oven.
bathroom being the biggest let down as the floor is cracked and damp which considering it is a shower room, toilet and sink all in the same room without any separations can make it quite difficult to go to the toilet without getting wet feet. I have yet to attempt to use the shower but it’s the first thing on my agenda tomorrow. There also seems to be a lady bird infestation in my room. I’ve found at least 15 since I moved in which was only an hour or so ago.

I begin teaching tomorrow as well. I have to create my own lessons for tomorrow and Friday and after that they will provide me with a textbook to follow. It’s made even more daunting as I don’t know the age or level of the students yet; this will be given to me tomorrow morning. Also the principle said he would be sitting in on my lessons…no pressure. I’m also expected to have breakfast and dinner at the school dining hall tomorrow and have been invited out for lunch tomorrow to meet all the main members of the faculty. In the morning another English teacher is meant to be taking me shopping for food and essentials (including a mobile phone) and then showing me how to work the various appliances in my apartment.

Hopefully my first day as an actual teacher will go well….wish me all the best.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Taiyuan AirportTaiyuan Airport
Taiyuan Airport

This made me laugh. There was cellophane on the toilet seat some conveyor belt sort of system.
Lucheng No.1 Middle SchoolLucheng No.1 Middle School
Lucheng No.1 Middle School

The view of the school from my apartment.
BedroomBedroom
Bedroom

It's a bit of a mess but you can see my new super thick pink PJs.
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

With all the essentials except an oven.
BathroomBathroom
Bathroom

With a Chinese shower which I'm getting use to...slowly.


Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb