Yangshuo Day No. 2


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Guangxi » Yangshuo
October 29th 2012
Published: October 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Day two arrived with a rather disrupted sleep patern including waking up at 4 in the morning despite having gone to bed at gone midnight. The day began with filling in some forms for the Buckland office followed by opening a bank account. I was told that I had been assigned a school (Lucheng No. Middle School in Shaanxi Province which is very far north) and they wanted me there asap. As such this means that I will be leaving Yangshuo on Wednesday without much chance of being able to explore the city's natural beauty. There was little chance to do much today due to the constant rain and tomorrow I have a full medical check and then a very quick introduction to the school I'm going to. Once I know a bit more about the school I shall let you know.



I got to experience some more Chinese cuisine today including chicken soup which is basically cooked in front of you. Considering the dish includes the entire chicken (head, feet and all) this as you might have guessed is my least favourite chinese dish as of yet. I have invested in a few snacks for later tonight incase I become hungry.



Food and other goods are extremely cheap here the chicken soup wich consisted of one whole chicken and various vegetables and a fairly large quantity of rice came to 66 Yuan which is basicall £6.60 for two people very reasonable pricing when you think about it. My snacks and various other goods came to about 26Yuan which is £2.60 and definately a bargain compared to back home.

I am not particularly looking forwards to the trip to my school as it will most likly be by bus and will be a very long journey. I will simply have to look at it as a learning experience which will hopefully benefit me later in life.



Speak to you soon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.033s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb