Shanghai...contemplating twenty years living in Asia!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 26th 2017
Published: January 30th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Big news, I'm not young anymore....it is now twenty years that I've lived in Asia. Yes, this is nearly half of my life! It was first few weeks in Hong Kong, followed by four years in Saigon, three years back in Hong Kong, nearly 6 years in Shanghai...3 years in Bangkok. Oh, one year also in Buenos Aires...I know, not really Asia...followed by 6 months on the road, and another 3 years in Bangkok. My time as a resident in Asia is soon over, so here it is, a little round of "au revoir" to places that welcomed me...I still call these places home, where I will for ever not be a tourist!



Little disclaimer...next blog will be about Hong Kong. But I have no plan to do any blog about Saigon, I'm simply not used to take my camera out there....and not sure either I'm going to do a blog about Bangkok...even if I'm writing this from a very nice lounge on the 27th floor of a decent hotel by the river. Trust me, where I write this, I feel like a tourist in Bangkok!



So here we are...before and after Harbin, we are spending few days in Shanghai. How fun is it...years ago, I would simply escape Shanghai days before the start of the Chinese New Year....and this is exactly the time we are visiting now! This time of the year is just a nightmare when it comes to find a taxi ride....but this is not 2003 when I first arrive...now, you have the metro all over the place!



Yes we spent a night out with friends...and yes...they laugh at my stories explaining where is our next move...as we are moving in a place where restaurants close their kitchen at 8.30pm...where you won't be able to party after 10pm...but who cares....we'll have diving, golf...amazing wine and gorgeous food for nothing...all this by the ocean! Oh, and I have to add, we may have more than one friend visiting!



The best view of any hotel in Shanghai is from a suite at the Royal Meridien....trust the pictures...but they have a very average lounge...till just an amazing view from the lounge too! So the trick here is to move...to get the best the city has to offer everyday. Imagine, they have so many hotels around Shanghai these days....that it is actually cheaper than staying in Bangkok! Insane!



We spent time with friends partying....who were happy to meet Tanya! We spent some time shopping...because after all, this is Shanghai! We even sepnt some time museum hopping! Can't imagine I only visited once in the past the Museum of Shanghai Art, a pretty amazing collection of Chinese Art!



Do I miss Shanghai? Well, I miss my Shanghai back in the early 2000s...when the champagne was insanely cheap....and life in Shanghai was just about opening a place after another one, partying some 5 days every week. Do I miss the Shanghai of today....simple answer...no! Today Shanghai is about pollution, population, and inflation. Why would you live in such a city...New York is cheaper, and way more interesting...and Trump is only limited to his little tower in NY!



It's fun to think that the fun year to live back in Saigon, where anything between 1993 and 1999....and I did 1996 to 2000. If you ask for Shanghai, I would say 2004 to 2010....it's ok, I did 03' till 09'! Bangkok and HK, for what they are worth, actually never really change...



Next...back to some more nostalgia, this time in Hong Kong!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



30th January 2017

Good Luck
Been following you blogs and wishing you happiness and good fortune on the African continent, as you mentioned very different to Asia - lol Sheila x
30th January 2017

Thanks Sheila!
Only few more weeks of being homeless ahead for us....can't wait for Africa...it's not like if we were not spending a lot of time there already! Will be blogging from home!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb