Arrival and First Day in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
May 15th 2011
Published: May 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Flight

Flights from Raleigh to Shanghai. On the one from Dallas we curved up and flew right under Alaska so the map is not all that accurate.

2nd Flight2nd Flight2nd Flight

The longest flight I have ever been on. Nice plane though.
So has anyone old you how long 12 hours on a plane is? I will. Its 6 power naps, 13 Sudoku games, 8 rounds of battle ships, 3 movies, and 5 TV episodes long. Making matters worse were the 3-hour flights around it. I mean I am sitting hear in Tokyo and I woke up from my first power nap to catch my first flight 24 hours ago. I have had 1 hour of sleep in the last 48 hours. AGGGGHHHHH!!!!

In other news, the food wasn’t bad but that may be because I am used to fountain dining hall. It would be nice to get Internet in the airports. That would be very convenient. But enough complaining. On to the interesting stuff.

I had really good seats on the 777. I was the front section of sardines. Luckily one f my professors did not have to endure the trivialities of coach and reveled in the glory of 1st class. I met an interesting Japanese-American man named Knock. He and his wife were visiting Japan. It turns out He is a retired electrical engineer, and his kids (a son and a daughter) and both mechanical engineers. It was fun
3rd Flight3rd Flight3rd Flight

This is the A330 that we flew from Narita (Tokyo) to Pu Dong Airport (Shanghai). Overkill for a 3 hour flight, but I am not complaining.
talking with him for a little bit about planes. I did get to sit on the isle on all of my flights today. And on the long flight I got the back seat so I could recline it all the way the entire flight.

In the layover in Japan, there are a lot of interesting treats. Like Kit-Kat with cantaloupe or a counter that literally looks straight out of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. Didn’t get to watch the weird Japanese game shows.

I will say that the 3rd flight was perhaps the best I’ve ever been on. If you ever have the chance, fly Asian. They will take care of you. It was a 3-hour flight and we had food. Good food. The fish and rice was delicious. The watermelon was the juiciest I have ever had. Even the desert was something new and different. It was like coffee pudding on cake. Mmmm. Anyway the flight was a good way to end the travel.

By now I have lost all track of time. It is 7 o’clock in Shanghai. All I am trying to o is not drop asleep. I am pretty sure that I have not had a full night of sleep in the last 60 hours. On to dinner!!!

…Dinner was like American Chinese food. After that there was a ride back to the hotel that I was not conscious for for the most part. Well, we are here in China. Until next time…


Advertisement



18th May 2011

Flight
Sounds like you need sleep. Glad your entire flight wasn't so bad. So why am I not getting email alerts when you update? Here it is Wed. and I am just finding out that you made it to China okay....Hope you did get some sleep

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1013s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb