2/18/2011


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 19th 2011
Published: February 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Outdoor Mall PlazaOutdoor Mall PlazaOutdoor Mall Plaza

One block away from where I work
I am back at work and we are keeping very busy. There are many due dates for people in the office soon and everyone is working hard to catch up from the holiday vacation. My work schedule has kept me from updating the blog recently.
The project I have been working on is designing a group of three office buildings. They are about 10 stories tall and in northern Shanghai. We have a due date coming soon also and have been working long hours all week to keep up.
I did some more sightseeing recently and got a few more photos of the building I work in and my apartment here. I am getting more familiar with the people in the office and have been going to lunch with people in my studio often. Life here is feeling more comfortable and normal now.
Sunday I went to a local church for the first time since I have been here. It is called Shanghai Community Fellowship and is a large church. They have English services in the afternoon and it appears there are a lot of Americans that attend this church. The service I attended felt very comfortable and similar to an
Hong Kong RestaurantHong Kong RestaurantHong Kong Restaurant

Hong Kong Style Food with American Pop Music Playing
American church service. Next Sunday I am going to a lunch event for newcomers to the church. I hope to meet some new people and learn more about the church functions.
Depending on how busy I am, I will try to keep updating the blog more often in the future. I have hundreds of pictures that haven’t been posted yet.
Heath Swindler



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

ConcertConcert
Concert

Local artist performing on friday evening in Xintiandi
Valentines Day SubwayValentines Day Subway
Valentines Day Subway

On my way to work, this is the busiest subway line. All these people are waiting to push their way onto trains that are already full.
One Corprate AvenueOne Corprate Avenue
One Corprate Avenue

The building I work in.
Park Next to Gensler Office BuildingPark Next to Gensler Office Building
Park Next to Gensler Office Building

Locals doing their morning Tai Chi


19th February 2011

Apartment
I am sure you enjoy waking up to the Disney cartoons in your apt everyday. Thanks for the pictures. It helps me visualize your surroundings. Love you!
22nd February 2011
My Apartment Bedroom

I like that Bugs and Minnie are watching you sleep. Is that your furniture?
23rd February 2011

The furniture came with the apartment; so did the artwork.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb