Return to Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 10th 2011
Published: February 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I’m back in Shanghai. My trip to Dalian was Successful. I had no problems in transit and Shengjie's Family took very good care of me. On my last day I was able to see Wang Shi Kun and eat lunch with his family near Dalian. He is Shengjie's friend working in Shanghai that helped me get settled in here. He did almost everything I could need for me before I arrived so my transition here was much easier.
I returned to Shanghai a few days ago and today is my second day back at work. Many people in the office have still not returned from Spring Festival Vacation and the first day back was pretty relaxed.
The night of my return I was in my apartment for about 15 minutes and my Electricity went out. Luckily my neighbor was home and I went to ask her about the problem. She is over 70 years old and speaks no English. Once she understood the problem, she got help from her sister’s husband. They live just one floor below us and he repaired a blown fuse for me. While he was working on that, my neighbor made me some instant coffee and told me she has family working in Los Angeles. I told her where I am working here and showed her on the map where in Kansas I am from and where K-State is. I don’t speak in complete sentences but I know enough Mandarin that I could communicate that to her. I am thankful to have good people around so willing to offer help when I need it.
Before I started working I went to explore more of the city. There is a park close to my apartment that I visited. Many older locals were enjoying it on their last day of the Holiday. From here I went to People's Square. This is a popular part of the city with a park and many shops and restaurants. I am getting used to people staring at me "the foreigner" but that day was a new experience. Many people were still on holiday and feeling social I guess because I had four people say hello to me and start conversation. We just talked about where I am from, why I am here, and how little Mandarin I know. They all seemed very nice and spoke enough English I had no problem understanding them.
Buddhist Temple near DalianBuddhist Temple near DalianBuddhist Temple near Dalian

Under Construction to be completed in a minimum of two years

This is all for now. I can’t write every interesting experience on here or my entries would be way too long.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Park Near My ApartmentPark Near My Apartment
Park Near My Apartment

tai chi is very common activity among the older population
Active Section of the ParkActive Section of the Park
Active Section of the Park

Many people are exercising, dancing, and playing games here.


10th February 2011

The park pavilion reminds me of the park model you made for school. Really enjoy hearing the stories and seeing your pictures. Love Mom
10th February 2011

Neat
Thanks for your latest blog, I'm finding your activities VERY interesting. I shared some with Susan and had to explain to her how to get on your blog, did she? I'm not sure I even want to know what all kinds of food are on that table. So how are you adapting to all their styles of foods? anything you really like, or really don't like? It's neat you can talk enough Mandarin to fit in. Did Diane teach you what you know or did you take a class? I think you could write a blog every few days and I would really enjoy hearing. You take care and keep those cards and letters coming.
10th February 2011

your thoughts
Thanks for sharing.
20th February 2011

Neat
I am enjoying all the new kinds of food. There is a common dish served as a meal here that I like a lot. It is simply breaded pork served on top of white rice with some onions, garlic, and a sauce. I think it is a Japanese style dish. If I ever get a craving for some familiar food, there are many McDonalds and KFC restaurants around. I have never taken any Mandarin Classes. I have some study material that I study on my own. When I have questions I always have Diana to explain things to me.

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb