Shanghai Travel/Dalian


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 2nd 2011
Published: February 2nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

MetroMetroMetro

The Beginning of my saturday.
Saturday, the 29th, I had some free time and went out to explore more of Shanghai. I went to a few very popular areas of the city.
Pudong is the district of the iconic skyline of Shanghai and I started my day there. I saw the construction site of Gensler’s Shanghai Tower and it still has a long way to go before completion.
From there I went to the other side of the river to The Bund. This is a nice walkway along the Huang Pu river that offers good views of the city. There are a lot of historical European style buildings here.
Then I walked Nanjing Rd. before going to the supermarket and returning to my Apartment. Nanjing is a popular area of the city that looks similar to Time Square in areas.
Today is the 2nd of February and it is the official beginning of the Chinese New Year Holiday. I am off work for the next week for the legal holiday. I had a 8:55 flight to Dalian this morning. Dalian is north of Shanghai and is where Shengjie’s family lives. I will spend the holiday with them. Shengjie is still at K-State and I will be
PudongPudongPudong

Jin Mao Tower Shanghai Financial Tower
without a translator for this visit…



Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Gensler ProjectGensler Project
Gensler Project

Shanghai Tower
Dinner 1-29-11Dinner 1-29-11
Dinner 1-29-11

Japanese Resaurant in Pudong Mall
SkylineSkyline
Skyline

Pudong skyline from The Bund
Police Boat on the BundPolice Boat on the Bund
Police Boat on the Bund

I took this same picture last time I was in Shanghai.
The Bund BullThe Bund Bull
The Bund Bull

Shanghai's Bull is done by the same designer of the Wall Street Bull.
Pacific HotelPacific Hotel
Pacific Hotel

We stayed here last summer when I was in Shanghai.


2nd February 2011
The Bund Bull

What is Bund?
You have the word Bund in several of the captions. What is Bund? Is that the name of the river or an area of the city? Or is it like thinking of Wall Street in the USA?
2nd February 2011
Metro

Is it cold?
You look like you were dressed for Winter. Is it very cold there now?
2nd February 2011
Metro

Metro
Is this the subway? Is it the glass doors that keep you from falling on the train tracks?
4th February 2011
Pacific Hotel

Hey we were living in here lol
7th February 2011

Metro
This is the Subway stop closest to where I live. Yes the glass is to keep me from falling onto the tracks. Doors on the train and the Subway stop open.
10th February 2011

Is it cold?
It is cold. It isn't as cold as Kansas but when I travel around the city here I don't ride in a car so I am outide a lot.
10th February 2011

What is Bund?
It is an area of the city that can be compared to Wall Street. There are European style buildings along the Huangpu river left from when the British ruled this area. They were the primary financial buildings of the city I believe. There is also a large walking street along the river here that is a high tourist area.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0544s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb