Week 3


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 27th 2011
Published: January 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am nearing the end of my second week of work with Gensler. Monday will be my third week here in Shanghai. Colds are going around here and I unfortunately got sick for a while. I am doing much better now and hope to explore the city more on Saturday.
The Chinese New Year is coming and we will get a week off of work for the holiday. This means that we are working on Sunday before and Saturday after the holiday to make up lost time. I will go to Dalian, China for a few days to spend time with Shengjie's family. Hopefully I will get to meet Xiao Wang's family also (the friend that has been helping me here).
I have had a mixture of American and Chinese food since I have been here. Subway, McDonalds and KFC are easy to find around where I work. There are many local places to eat as well with good food. I will post pictures of some things I eat while I am here along with other images of the city.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Location of Weekend LunchLocation of Weekend Lunch
Location of Weekend Lunch

1 Min. Walk from my Apartment


1st February 2011

hey
Hey, I am glad you are getting around pretty good. I miss you and hope you have a good time with my family.
6th February 2011

Commute to work
So how far is it from your "pad" to your work? If it is too far to walk how do you get there? Sorry for so many questions all at once, but this is all new and interesting for me. I've been in Canada (1969) and walked across a bridge into Mexico in 2001 (when I was team driving the semi). Looking forward to answers and new blogs. Thanks, Aunt Linda
10th February 2011

Commute to work
My "Pad" is not too far from work. I travel north west to get to work. I take the Subway and it usually takes about half an hour to get to work depending on how long I have to wait for trains. I take 3 different trains to get there. I may start walking more of it when it starts getting warmer. I immagine the travel time would be shorter in a car but the Subway is much cheaper than a Taxi.
20th March 2011
My Apartment Layout Sketch

Crazy
Bathroom in the kitchen eh? how much does it run you US dolla equivalent?
23rd March 2011

Crazy
1700RMB = 255DOLLARS. That is what I am paying for rent here in the middle of Shanghai.

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb