Shanghai'd


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 3rd 2010
Published: November 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

TrainTrainTrain

Just prior to my pain. Girls settled in ready to depart.
We've been in Shanghai now for a week and it's gone so quickly. The overnight train from Beijing was for me a pretty horrific experience. I'd been looking forward to my first overnight train trip for 6 months I spent planning the trip. We booked a soft sleeper for about $105 each. This gave us our own 4 berth cabin, complete with individual videos and virtually no space for luggage but it did come with a lock on the door. Well we didn't need the lock as I spent the whole night throwing up outside the cabin. Must have eaten something that my body definitely didn't want. It was beyond doubt the most miserable 8 hours of my life. In the end about every hour I would curl myself around a seat in the passageway, knees on the floor head in a bag and beg to die! The train having travelled 1400 or so km (in 10 hours) pulled into Shanghai about 730am, just as I arriving back from hell finishing my last session. Quite convenient really. A new round of begging began as we enjoyed the taxi drivers antics through the streets of Shanghai in peak hour traffic. I fought to retain what little of my stomach lining was left. Desperate to gain the advantage and an extra car length the driver proved no different any other in China. All I could do was concentrate on the amazingly long lengths of massive concrete roadways perched at times 5-10 storeys above the ground we were travelling on. Welcome to Shanghai.

This week in Shanghai we have,

Shopped, Visited the tallest observatory in the world, shopped, visited the most successful world expo (so say the Chinese, 71 million people), shopped, enjoyed a huge Disney style amusement park, shopped, travelled on a cable car under the river, shopped, geo-cached, walked the longest underwater viewing tunnel at the Shanghai aquarium and shopped.

Shanghai is truly an amazing city. We spent 10 fantastic days here.




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Advance Australia Fair!Advance Australia Fair!
Advance Australia Fair!

A bloke came up to me, "Bloody good flag that mate" gotta love it!
Thats not a meat pie!Thats not a meat pie!
Thats not a meat pie!

Felt right at home buying the most expensive food in 6 weeks of our holiday. This excuse for a meat pie at the Australia pavilion cost $4! Well the aussie on the counter did warn me they were small.
Financial TowerFinancial Tower
Financial Tower

101 storeys.Current highest Observatory in the world
Entrance to Yu GardenEntrance to Yu Garden
Entrance to Yu Garden

Very near our apartment. This fantastic district is full of shops, restaurants and markets.
Geocaching is great!Geocaching is great!
Geocaching is great!

Found this great restuarant and bar in Pudong. A geocache is located here. Great beer brewed on site. What a find!
Bund TunnelBund Tunnel
Bund Tunnel

A little silly, but fun.
Weird WormsWeird Worms
Weird Worms

Worms at the Shanghai Aquarium.


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb