santa barbara to shanghai--long but worth it


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
January 10th 2010
Published: January 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Having left Santa Barbara on Thursday at 3:30pm we got back to Shanghai at about 4pm on Saturday. We spent a night at a hotel near O'Hare (genius on my part which Mark later conceded was a brilliant idea after at first saying "why aren't you just going home for the night?") Why? Because I had 2 kids, we arrived near midnight, it did indeed end up being a snowy night which would have meant transportation from the airport challenges--and it cost roughly the same in dollars to stay at a hotel as a trip to and from the airport would have been. I am a planner and a preventer of problems and this is why we stayed at a hotel. Like I said, genius.

While I prayed mightily for good travel karma (5 seats with 2 empties as we had on our way from China, well behaved kids who slept some but not all of the flight, and for my own attitude and behavior to mirror the image of my does-it-all-with-class and humor, best traveling self). It went okay. Not perfect, but we managed.

The plane was full. We had 4 of the 5 seats I had tried to snag, but our section of 5 was not just ours. We had to share. Funnily enough, we "knew" the guy we had to share it with. The young man recognized me--which happens a lot (just kidding) and I had no clue where he knew me from. I was immediately concerned. Had he seen me publicly lose it on a previous trip across the world? Turns out, we had met a the sushi restaurant near our apartment in Shanghai. He was sitting at the sushi bar next to us and we chatted a bit. Nothing embarrassing. Nathan sat by our traveling companion and Emily and I were at the other end. I was still able to keep a seat between the kids empty to prevent kicking and touching complaints during the 14 hour excursion.

I had requested vegetarian meals for myself (because I think they tend to be superior) and was informed when making the request earlier this week, that they no longer offer kid meals. I think that's suckish but what can you do? The kids tickets were the same price and kids are in fact people too. Throw them a kid friendly sandwich and help a solo
white mac attackwhite mac attackwhite mac attack

kids are in heaven with their personal computers
parent out, American Airlines! United still does kid meals. Or at least they did last time we flew home in August.

I must mention that when I went to ask for more snack mix--the flight attendant suggested I bring snacks along next time. Don't worry. I set her straight. I explained that while I am a seasoned traveler, and in fact write about family travel for my non-living these days, no amount of prep can prevent a child from saying "I don't want that" to all options presented. And sometimes, the best solution is the "how about another snack mix with those yummy, salty, crunchy things? Want me to go ask?" solution. The flight attendant appropriately apologized for her comments that clearly put me off by my possible eye roll (oops) and explanation that followed her suggestion. She brought us a snack plate from the higher class cabins (man, they have it good up there). That was very nice.

I will tell you, my loyal readers, that I did kinda blow it in the snack prep category. I know to bring stuff, I brought some granola bars, we bought some muffins at the airport, but we could have gotten a bit more for the trip. I was just shopped out by that last day and we spent our last hours with my dad and sister just hanging out and not doing stuff.

Sure enough, the only crying child on the entire 777 giant and very full flight was seated directly in front of Nathan. This kid cried a portion of each of our 14 hour flight. I think he was too hot. But I did not say anything to his Chinese parents because they probably thought my kids were under-dressed. It's just one of those things. The dad was useless. He sat in his seat, leaving only to use the bathroom while the mom was up and down and all around the plane, trying to comfort her son. She held the screaming kid the entire flight and kept him bundled and sweating (which is my theory for his in flight fits) the entire trip. He was slightly calmed when he discovered poor Nathan sitting behind him and spent some of his non-screaming time reaching over his seat and grabbing at Nathan's tray table. Of course, the parents were unaware that this was bothering us because since the kid wasn't screaming, they were able to sleep. He was a cute little fella which is probably why neither Nathan nor I complained to his parents.

After deplaning (took some time to wake up both kids enough to get them to help with the bags and coats we had to carry off the plane), we headed to the health screening area. This always makes me so nervous. I made the kids take off their coats before we passed through the temperature scanner. No alarms went off and I was relieved. I have heard they no longer do quarantines here but I still get nervous when we must pass any sort of tests to re-enter China. Then we were on to customs where we were routed through the special customs lane (go Shanghai Pudong Airport for allowing parents with kids to cut to the front!) only to proceed to baggage and wait and wait and wait for our bags. Thankfully, they all arrived (getting bags delivered in Shanghai is no easy task when it involves multiple conversations with the delivery guy who never speaks English--been there, done that). We loaded up 2 carts and walked confidently through the customs area and avoided the metal detector line this time--small victories!

We exited customs and saw the huge lines of people anxiously waiting for friends, family members or customers (many drivers with signs). And there was Mark waiting for us. The driver we hired was outside with the van, which he loaded up as he's done for us many times before. It was very familiar and the Chinese words came back to me immediately. Mark was impressed. I was not surprised. We were gone a month. It felt like longer. I already miss everyone back home, but I will stay in touch and see you all soon.

Today, we are going to a birthday party and then we have to go to the police station and update my address info so I can go extend my Visa tomorrow. Never boring!




Advertisement



12th January 2010

Bravo!
Well done, girl! Love your "Snacks FYI" with the AA attendant.
16th January 2010

stewardess!
Curious, was the flight attendant Chinese or American? Obviously, not a MOTHER!!!!!!!!!! Nice work on your part! You are a huge Trooper to endure so much!
16th January 2010

response to Cara's question
flight attendant was American. The Chinese airlines actually offer much better service. They even help put bags in the overhead bins!

Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.126s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb