Back to China


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
November 24th 2009
Published: January 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Last week I flew to Shanghai for an interview to try out for the Australian Pavilion at the Shanghai Expo in 2010. After getting through the first interview, it was game on again today for the second round. There were a mix of people from a very broad range of backgrounds and quite a few Chinese. Over three days they were putting through about 200 people here in China (and about the same number were going through in Australia), so about 33 in each group (six batches).

It was a long afternoon, but I really enjoyed it. There were lots of teamwork activities, including one where we had to present a small speaking piece we’d prepared. There were a good range of people and as fate would have it, the first person I met was a yogi, who I’m sure to keep in touch with regardless of the results of the interview. Now we just sit and wait for how ever long it takes for them to make the final cut, at least another month or maybe two! It's all part of the game and a big thing for them to be coordinating no doubt.

Weather was much colder than I expected here. First a bit cool and Id left in a flurry so only had open shoes and one spare set of clothes... I bought a coat and some appropriate shoes and the interview gear. Then after the interview it was snowing so I figured, better get my butt on a train to friends in Jinhua who could assure my warmness for the early start to winter in China. Magic to have another visit so soon with the beautiful people of Jinhua.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb