Shanghaied South


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
August 17th 2009
Published: September 16th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Zao shang haoZao shang haoZao shang hao

Good morning, would you like some steamed buns?
I decided to head south to Shanghai after our Summer English Camp was over. That was a very busy 6 weeks. Certainly not used to working 6 days a week anymore but we had plenty of fun and it was over very quickly.

So I hopped on a 'D' Train with hundreds of other holiday goers as it's still peak season here. Mmmmm....the smells, the noise, the chair kicking again, all my favourite things on a 6.5hr train journey. But the feeling of joy when I see that the train is travelling at 235kph boosts my spirits knowing that the it will all be over soon.

Sometimes one of the most stressful things about arriving in a new city is finding my bearings and working out directions. It's worse at night and if there are a lot of people around. And worse still if 20 taxi drivers are yelling out to me for the fare. But tonight it was smooth and I felt comfortable. Living in China for almost 7 months now gives me the knowledge to be able to handle the 'Chinese' way of things. I soon find my hostel and will experience my first night in a dorm room. Funny, all this time, I've either stayed in private hostel rooms or hotels. All was good, after I returned from dinner, I met one of my fellow dormers, Steve, and we had a drink on the roof of the hostel, The Phoenix, I went back to the room at 11.30 and Steve, loaded with beer buzz after 2 months teaching in a dry country, decided to go out and find a tattoo parlour. I slept soundly except for 2 times I awoke to Steve returning from his midnight foray. The second time I woke, I rolled over and was faced with Steve's hairy behind showing itself to the world. I chuckled and rolled back the other way and slept like a baby.

I explored the city of Shanghai and found that it wasn't as impressive as I'd thought it would be. Very similar to Hong Kong or any other western city in the world with the tall buildings but the major problem was that everywhere there is construction or renovation in preparation of Expo 2010. The Bund was dug up, the pedestrian tunnel under the river was closed for reno, and the view from the other side
Yi Yuan GardenYi Yuan GardenYi Yuan Garden

Don't play koi with me.
back to the city skyline was marred by the construction that covered the riverbank for about a kilometre.

Other than that, I did find some great sights. The Old Town was nice. To wander between the buildings was great. It is a huge tourist attraction so be prepared for the jostling. I found some great little clothing stores and far corners and hideaway places. The atmosphere was typical China. The sounds of traders calling out, the smells of food, the bustle of people, the chinese neon signs, bicycles, taxis, buses cars. I found the entrance to Yi Yuan Gardens from the old town and it was like stepping into another world. On one side of the wall was the busy daily life and on the other was a beautiful garden of ancient trees and buildings, of ponds and bridges. It was very peaceful and rejuvenating.

I visited many shopping malls, but there's one that's not obvious and that is the shopping mall under people's square. Many small stalls of clothing and CD's, beauty products, restaurants. I stopped at a Japanese restaurant for dinner this night and enjoyed fish and soup.

I visited the art gallery but found
Shanghai - Nanjing RdShanghai - Nanjing RdShanghai - Nanjing Rd

during a regular afternoon storm.
that it was lacking in variety. The subjects and techniques were similar throughout. The photography section was good too but instead of natural photography I found that many of the pics were edited or computerised in some way.

I wandered through back streets away from the main shopping streets and found a different scene. The everyday scene which is this culture. I do the same in every place I go to because I find that the real people are behind the facade of beautiful buildings and modernised streets made for the tourists.

One of the highlights of my trip was the Shanghai Museum. It is an impressive collection of ancient paintings, pottery and porcelain, sculpture, bronzes, currencies, Chinese seals, jade pieces, Ming and Qing wooden furniture. What is interesting is that Buddha had/has been a great influence in Chinese history. This collection is said to be the best in all of China. If you visit this city be sure to make time for the museum. The museum is free to enter and you can hire an audio set that is highly recommended in many languages. That would cost about 40 yuan. I spent 5 hours in there and it was well worth it.

My trip was only for a couple of days as I had to be back in Tai'an by Wednesday. There is much more to visit in Shanghai and I hope to go back again to take in the French quarter and the Jade Temple, take a trip on the maglev, and check out the Expo site. I think autumn or winter would be better suited for Shanghai. Summer storms every afternoon and the humidity was stifling. So my return trip will be later in the year.



Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Shanghai MuseumShanghai Museum
Shanghai Museum

You'll see the pants that small children wear with the gap in the crotch. They still wear them today. Handy for an emergency squat.
Aussies ladiesAussies ladies
Aussies ladies

I had dinner with on the first night.
The old townThe old town
The old town

Nothing says 'ye olde world' china like a newly built building made to look old with KFC advertised on the side.
Peeking puppetryPeeking puppetry
Peeking puppetry

a bizarre peep show


16th September 2009

Wow
Hey you Wow god im in envy of you , its so cool to see what your up too :) Hope yoiu enjoy Spain when you get there , my sister really loved it ! Thanks gor sending the blogs , im hoping to go to Thailand next year for a break ? Well there is about 8 couples and we are still in negotiations on where and what to do ? Im going to Bali forthr first time in 2011 , im already scared about that one lol No goss from Makita really , oh Steve Poppy reseigned yesterday , thats sad another good one gooonnneeee lol Ayways have fun and be safe and ill cha to you soon !!

Tot: 0.337s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 17; qc: 84; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb