Spa Experience


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 23rd 2009
Published: June 28th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I have always been one to enjoy a good massage. Here in China they are very inexpensive (mine was $16 for an hour) and rumored to be very good. I had a recommendation of a place to go and decided last Friday to give it a try. Wow, that girl had strong hands. First, you change into some PJ’s they give you then lay face down and let the workout begin. I have had both good and bad massages in the past but I’m not too sure what to say about this one. It hurt like crazy while she was working on me but after I felt pretty good. So I thought that the next time I would try the foot massage instead. It includes reflexology which is said to be good for everything that ails you. Tuesday, since my Chinese lesson was cancelled, I headed back to the spa. Oh my, once again ouch!

After the first massage the girl had me get dressed, gave me some tea, my shoes and rushed me out of the door. I didn’t think they were going to let me leave after the foot massage. When I first got there they brought in some tea and watermelon. I endured the massage and was ready to go. While the girl was working on my feet (you also get a shoulder rub while your feet are soaking) she kept asking me something and motioning like she was eating something. I had no idea what she was asking and thought maybe she was telling me I eat too much or the wrong things. Who knows what they can tell by rubbing your feet? When she was finished she asked me to wait and came back with lunch. No……. I already ate lunch before I went, had their watermelon and tea and now a mystery lunch. Some fish broth soup with greens and steamed buns in the broth. I must have said at some point that I wanted it so I had to eat some. I wish I could tell you what was in the buns, chicken (don’t think so), pork, fish…who knows. I ate what I could and then waited for them to tell me I could leave. Finally I thought I had waited long enough so I just went to the front desk, paid for the massage and left. I think the search for the perfect massage will continue…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb