Squatty Potty


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Jiangsu » Suzhou
July 4th 2009
Published: July 5th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Another day in China, another adventure. We decided to go to Suzhou on Saturday to visit some Chinese gardens. It took awhile to get there and find the first garden so of course it was time to find the water closet. I know there is always the chance that you will not find a western toilet and once I saw what I would have to do I turned and left. But knowing I would eventually have to learn how to do this I thought “no better time than the present" and I did have to go. It took a few seconds to plot out my strategy and then I proceeded. Of course I was concerned about getting things only where I should, you know not on my shoes, clothes, purse (which was still strapped to me. What, do you think there was a hook on the door :-)). Once finished I lifted the toilet paper holder to find that it was empty. Of course it was and I guess I should have been surprised that there was one there at all. And it was on the floor but of course I was too. So I dug to the bottom of my purse and found a tissue. Job all done and now time to stand up. Oh no, I can’t move my legs!!!! I’m stuck!!!! What to do? I grabbed the wall and prayed, please let me stand.

All this and can you believe it was an automatic flush toilet. Look on the wall of the picture. All I could think was “are you kidding, you have the foresight to make the thing automatic flush and can’t put in a western toilet? Well now I can say that I have used the infamous “squatty potty”. I also know what exercises to do before I try this trick again.

Advertisement



8th July 2009

The first time I saw one of these in Europe, I thought it was a shower stall and walked out. I also once saw shoe-prints on a western toilet-seat. I guess we are not alone in our challenges to use toilets we are not used to :)
3rd February 2010

Exercises?
Having made frequent trips to Asia, I am very well acquainted with the squatty potty. However, as I am getting older, I really need the exercises for my legs. Could you send your suggestions? Your comment about your legs when it was time to stand up was hilarious...and SO true!!
5th February 2010

Exercises
I am doing a lot of running on the treadmill which may not really help in this area. I am also using the weight machines in the gym which I have to admit make a big difference. Any exercise for the quads is a plus. My mom and a friend came over to China for a visit and my suggestion for them was to actually get into the position several times a day to build up the muscles. My mom said it worked and was able to use the squatty when she was here with no problems. Her friend stuck to the handicap stalls to avoid the whole squatty issue. Thanks so much for the response to the blog.

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb