homemade dumplings...does it get any better?


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
October 24th 2008
Published: October 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I spent last Thursday afternoon at the kids' school. I volunteered to give a presentation about the USA as part of their United Nations Day unit. I gave this presentation to Emily's class. First grade is probably the end of my comfort zone when it comes to geography, history and all related subjects. However, I did a bit of research online to be safe. So, armed with my notes, I presented (along with another mom from Michigan) some facts about the flag, our holidays, and a few other things. Turns out, the other moms presenting that day brought candy from their countries. I did not have candy or any sort of props. What could I have brought really, that is "American"? I am pretty sure all the stuff we brought from home was made in China. Emily was nice when I asked if I did an okay job. I apologized for being less cool and not bringing treats. She said "that's okay mom. You did okay. And besides, at least your table was healthier!" Not the glowing review a mother hopes for, but I took it.

I realized that most of my stories are about food. That's all. I just noticed. On to a series of such stories.

Friday, I asked Xiao Chen, our ayi, to teach me how to make jiaozi (Chinese dumplings). I asked her if she could make them, because she has been buying frozen ones for us. Finally confidant to take on this all-important conversation, I broached the subject. I explained we didn't need her to cook dinner Friday night because we were going to be going out to dinner. Then I asked (or intended to ask) if she could teach me how to make homemade dumplings. From our conversation, I was pretty sure she had said no way...but then in thinking about it later, I realized she said no way to making homemade dough. She came back after shopping with all the ingredients for pork dumplings. We made, about 60 dumplings and they were great.

The dough was fresh, but purchased at a market. I watched Xiao Chen make the filling and she mixed the entire thing with chopsticks. Impressive. My technique was less consistent and my pace was much slower, but together we made these fabulous dumplings in record time. After we finished, Xiao Chen asked if I wanted her to make a few before they were all frozen for later. I enthusiastically accepted her offer and we sampled them before heading out to dinner. So far I have sampled the pan fried cooking method on Friday and I boiled some yesterday for lunch and again tonight for dinner.

We had the most fun on Friday tonight. We had real Italian food at a great spot not too far from our place. Lisa, my friend from Mandarin class, took us there and introduced us to the owner. The place was very popular and has an Italian chef. The kids were thrilled and gobbled up their spaghetti bolognese. We had great food, great wine and a lot of fun over dinner. We went from dinner to the park to see the dancing. the kids got shoulder rides from Lisa and Mark and I did not partake in the shoulder ride antics. Instead, I protected my back and took pictures of all of them! I have enough back issues without adding to the risk factors. We ended up in the park watching and ultimately dancing until 10pm and had so much fun. At several points we drew huge crowds and were able to
UN DayUN DayUN Day

showing USA spirit! (and no uniforms required)
chat a little more than we have in the past. At one point I had about 20 people around me. I got about every 10th word, but they enjoyed my effort. I realized quickly that if I said "I understand" in Chinese, they crowd would get very excited and think I was really quite fluent. I made a quick getaway before they caught onto my deceptive ways.

People, especially the older people are just really nice and welcoming to us when we join in these local activities. We see some familiar faces each time we go dancing in the park. The entire thing stopped at 10pm sharp. We guessed that's when the park closes and when the karaoke and radios need to be silenced.

I need to describe the park's karaoke scene. In 3 areas right near each other and also very near all the dancing, there were tables set up with computers and speakers serving as karaoke machines. These crowds surrounded the person singing, and the singer watched the monitor and sang along with a portable microphone. All Chinese music of course, and in my opinion talent was not required (just as it isn't at most karaoke
my walk to school through the parkmy walk to school through the parkmy walk to school through the park

I pass groups doing Tai Chi
nights back home). Yikes. The difference between the park karaoke and say, a bar in Chicago, was that these people appeared to be sober. Drunk bad singing just makes more sense to me.

Next Friday, I am helping with the Halloween party for both classes. I am a little surprised at how much Halloween stuff is available here. I realize it's all made here, but that does not always mean things can be bought here. However, decorations and costumes are all over the place and the school is letting the kids dress up all day. Sigh. I would have been totally fine skipping this particular holiday and saying it's just not celebrated here. Less junk food, less work for me. But alas, we spent much of today hunting for Nathan's costume. He has not actually confirmed what he wants to be, but nonetheless we went to a few stores to seek out an acceptable costume. No luck. Emily is all set with her fairy-without-wings because they would be difficult to wear to school costume. We pieced together a costume with a pink dress I brought from home and a wand and headband we found at a market here. Girls are so easy. Nathan rejected all my (fabulous) suggestions.

Saturday night we met our British pals for dinner. It's been a while since we've had a long visit, so it was nice to spend some time catching up. We were late, due to bad rain and lack of taxis. When we arrived, the kids' food was ready and happy hour had started without us. We did our best to catch up. Buy 1 get 1 free is a dangerous game when it comes to cocktails. I had 4 lemon drops. They were strong. Mark had to put the kids to bed on his own last night because mommy was too "tired".


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



26th October 2008

Does it get any better?
Homemade Chinese dumplings...nice! Watching Ayi mix the filling with chopsticks...even nicer! Being served samples before going out...priceless!
29th October 2008

Yummm -- dumplings!
The dumplings sound -- and look -- yummy! Maybe you can open a chinese cooking school when you come back! I miss you... but love reading the blog... I can almost hear your voice! Speaking of.... let's skype this week! Friday morning or night my time?

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.1387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb