Itchy Traveller ... Literally!


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 8th 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

they got me! 6 bites in vicinity of my left knee! :(
So I discovered that it's not just Ollie who likes my legs .... Shanghai bugs do too! I don't know what it is - the heat, the mugginess, both which make me sweat profusely, but this past week alone I have discovered 21 different bites on my legs (and bum)! At first I got one or two, and I wasn't very concerned, but the last few days after coming in from an afternoon out or a night on the town I would literally have like 8 new itchy, puffy, and bright red bites. I've done a lot of research on this and apparently it's a common complaint of foreigners coming to Shanghai. I assume it's mosquitoes (as most people do), but maybe it's flies, who knows. I'm trying not to get freaked out about it as I'm not experiencing any other symptoms or signs of a reaction. But I certainly wasn't expecting this to be like a trip to Muskoka! Thank goodness we brought 2 bottles of DEET! .... I hope they cool it once we get out of the rainy season.

On another itchy note, one of my blogs was published on Itchy Traveller (http://www.itchytraveller.com/articles/features/735.html)! It's like an online
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

most taxis have mini TVs on the passenger headrest playing advertisements - what a way to get the attention of your captive audience
travel magazine, full of articles by people who love to travel for people who love to travel and learn about travel. I had been contacted 2 weeks ago by the editor who told me he really enjoyed my blog "Wandering About and the Taiking Road Art Centre", and if they could use it on their site. Of course I agreed! If you read the online article you'll notice that it differs a little from my blog (I guess they added or re-worded a few sentences...). Anyway, it's called "Shanghai Splendor" - check it out if you have a chance.

Ollie and I had a great weekend that just passed. Saturday we were going to head to the Shanghai Museum, but the line was atrocious! A 40 minute wait just to enter! When I go to a museum I don't like to just whiz through to say "I've been there!" - I like to have space and quiet to be able to fully enjoy and reflect on what I'm seeing. And that means not being surrounded by half the population of Shanghai!

So we consulted our Lonely Planet Shanghai guide and decided to head across town to visit the
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

outside the Propaganda Poster Art Centre - photos weren't allowed inside
Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre. It was fascinating! Contained in the basement of an apartment building this gallery/museum houses a collection of approximately 4000 original posters dating back from 1949-1979 during the Cultural Revolution. Only about a hundred are on display at any given time, but they give you a taste of how posters and pubic art were used by the communists as a tool of propaganda to preach to the masses. It was ironic and fascinating and provided good first hand insight into life at that time.

It was a beautiful Saturday, not super hot and with a very pleasant cool breeze so we spent the entire day and night out and about, walking around the French Concession area. We made our way back to one of the nicest spots of the neighbourhood, Xintiandi, browsing stores and exploring small side streets and alleys. We capped the night off perfectly with a Xintiandi tapas dinner and lots of good red wine at Luna restaurant, people watching and enjoying the beautiful late summer night.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

this was an alleyway where all of a sudden chickens were running around!! It was something so hilarious that we burst out laughing and took a photo (they were running so fast!) - I didn't let Ollie go any closer to take the photo though, you know, Avian Flu and all
Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

a little bit of Paris, even in Shanghai!
Photo 6Photo 6
Photo 6

we discovered a little park off of Huahai Rd and from in it we saw this building in the distance - don't know what it was but it sure stood out!
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

mmm vino and tapas oh my!
Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

the hip crowds of Xintiandi on a Saturday night
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

view from our patio table
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

me, alley posing (that plastic bag contained corn flakes, which I discovered at a distant store and carried around with me all day!)
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

more night time Xintiandi
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

Partyworld! We discovered this place in our Lonely Planet Guide and went trekking for it - it's the biggest karaoke club in Shanghai! Definitely going to go one day! (I'm sure that'll be an interesting blog!)
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

the stellar futuristic night sky of the city
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

even the highways get in on the light action


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 6; ; mem: 1.1mb