The Journey


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Shanghai, China


This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: MagLev 138 secs
Pre-MagLevPre-MagLevPre-MagLev

We sit at the front of the beast of a train.
I am in Shanghai. Waiting to board my third flight in as many days. My cross Pacific journey turned into a North Pole adventure. The GPS enabled map on the airplane demonstrated the seemingly inefficient route. An amazing thing it is what maps do to the sense of direction and shortest path.

I was seated next to a nice mid 40 year old man (Chris). It turns out that he is headed to Shanghai to pick up his fiance and 1 year old son. He is going to finally bring them to the US to live together. We chat about my expectations for my first trip abroad. I try to curb politics from the conversation, however he insists as he is very interested in a life in Canada.

14 hours, 3 meals, 2 hours of sleep, 3 Mandarin lessons and 12 time zones later I was finally in Shanghai. Chris helps me to understand how the foreign entry process works. Security is slightly less than in Canada but still present. There is no trouble with my visa and I officially walk into non-North American territory.

All of my 2 bags arrive properly at the baggage claim. After clearing
MagLevMagLevMagLev

Traveling a 431km/hr standing up.
customs I see Lingzhi (a good friend and colleague from UWO) amongst a large group of Chinese people, calling my name. I greet him with the standard ni hao and then realize my Mandarin language has great promise to improve over the next two months.

Lingzhi has never taken a high speed train (MagLev) before. He has decided that there is no better time than now. Boarding the train was some trouble with all my luggage but proved to be worth it. Maxing out at 431km/hr. the elavated and embanked ride is much smoother, not to mention faster, than most modes of transportation in North America. The train brings us to within a taxi ride to Lingzhi's sister's apartment.

The taxi service at the Maglev station is very organized. A neat line of both people and cabs. Cab drivers are however, much less orderly. Lines on the road mean nothing and the drivers reflexes must be well tuned. Also the horn comes in handy. Lingzhi and the driver conversate while I investigate this new world. Note: while holding on for dear life.

The taxi driver takes a previously traveled shortcut. Bicycles and mopeds are everywhere. Both with
First TimersFirst TimersFirst Timers

Lingzhi and I sit patiently as the 15 minute ride takes us across the city.
and against traffic on the streets, crossing streets and beside the streets. It is inspiring to know that the drivers and the cyclists can cohabit the roadways. The short cut was a dead end but introduced me to the shack style living that exists in Shanghai. Construction of a major highway seems to have displaced some individuals though I wish not to speculate further. There are many many markets in these areas and everyone is busy with life. Construction is as orderly as the driving habits. There are half dissembled barricades to allow for moped access.

We arrive at Lingzhi's sisters which is in a 6-8plex. His mother greets us at the door and I am immediately instructed to rest. There is one English TV station, but I prefer creating my own stories along with the Mandarin soap operaic images. Snacks are provided including delicious coconut milk, local pork jerky and large sour grapes. Lingzhi's mom speaks no English so I make a few efforts at Mandarin communication.

I am given a tour of the apartment. The style is very contemporary/retro with rounded furniture and hard colour contrasts. A red tree stamped into the white wall sets the
AccentAccentAccent

Lingzhi's sisters house is very colourful and full of contrast. This one is for my mom!
style of the entire apartment. A small icebox and large air conditioner accent the connected living room and kitchen. I am awarded the Master bedroom as it provides the largest bed surface area. I suggest that the couch is adequate but they insist.

After some time Lingzhi's friend Gong Wang arrives to pick us up to go to dinner. He drives a new Mazda. A rare occurrence in this city of Volkswagens.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb