All-you-can


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The before...The before...The before...

(at Shirokiya)
The past few days have been filled with food (non-Chinese), language (yes, Chinese), and culture (shopping).

I started my weekend at Shirokiya, an all-you-can-eat-and-drink Japanese restaurant near the trendy HuaiHai Rd. Eric, Nathan, and I had fasted all day in preparation (after all, 148 yuan can go far in China, so you'd better eat your money's worth). We essentially ordered at least one of everything on the menu, not having the slightest idea what we were soon to be eating (I have perfected the "zhege"-and-pointing technique). We were less adventurous with our choices of beverages, though the liquid volume consumed certainly did not diminish. Just as we were realizing that we had had our fill of raw shrimp ("no, it's supposed to ooze out of its shell like that!"), the waitress informed us that she could not clear our table if our dishes still had food on them. The spelled out trouble for us, given that the dishes we didn't finish (the previously described raw shrimp platter, one plate of way-too-vegetarian sushi, and two bowls of something akin to Mexican tortilla soup that we certainly did not order) were ones that we had no desire of finishing. Eric argued with
...The after...The after...The after

Pleeeease don't make us eat any more of this Mexican-style Japanese soup!
the waitress, claiming that we shouldn't have to eat them if they taste bad (hehe), but she just responded that if we didn't eat the food, she would be charged for it!! Feeling guilty, we quickly made one last attempt... to no avail. Then, sneaky Mr. Nathan came up with a brilliant plan. I feel bad for the dishwasher who will find smashed-up sushi inside all the cups from our table...

Saturday morning I had my first American breakfast in China at Arch, a restaurant known for its interior design. Later in the day, I went with the JiaoTong crew to a Chinese acrobat show (well, circus?) where I saw several people almost die. Most memorably, Nathan, Jeff, and I afterwards went to pedestrian Hong Mei Rd to bar hop, where we found out what *really* goes in bai jiu (Chinese white alcohol).

Sunday, Eric took Nathan, Jeff, and I to a nice dimsum place called Lynn, right near the Portman Ritz Carlton (beautiful hotel right next to an even more fabulous American grocery store), after which he brought us to receive 18 yuan haircuts ($3) (body massage included). Next, we four went shopping where I saw Jeff
Naughty NathanNaughty NathanNaughty Nathan

Quick photo snapped of Nathan hiding our excess food inside cups and napkins...
successfully haggle a watch down from 998 yuan to 104. And it only took him about 45 minutes.

Sunday, I also met my new flatmate - his name is Natsuki. I only speak Chinese with him, and I can already feel my language skills improving. We spent all day after Monday's class exploring Shanghai. And we have the pictures to prove it (about 300 between the both of us).


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Gan Bei!Gan Bei!
Gan Bei!

Let's just say that we also took the all-you-can-drink part seriously.
Kirin H20Kirin H20
Kirin H20

I was mostly content with my beer mug filled with water.
Good morning, deliciousGood morning, delicious
Good morning, delicious

My "Canadian" breakfast at Arch.
Watch out...Watch out...
Watch out...

... for the bai jiu. Apparently China's national white alcohol drink is created via yummy snake and ant juices.
Lynn hospitalityLynn hospitality
Lynn hospitality

At dimsum restaurant Lynn, even my purse got a [baby] chair of its own.
HairwashHairwash
Hairwash

Big hair!
PamperingPampering
Pampering

Jeff is all giggles as his hairdresser (?) finishes his wash.
Full serviceFull service
Full service

Eric relaxes back as his hairdresser gives him a massage, included in the $3 hair cut and wash price.
On a side note...On a side note...
On a side note...

One of my teachers brought in cheese to class because I told her I like cheese. This was it. Was it good? Let's just put it this way - Tim, my classmate, actually asked Olive if she was trying to kill us.
LaoWaiLaoWai
LaoWai

Enough English-speakers inhabit and visit Shanghai that there are entire (free) weekly magazines catering to us. I read City Weekend and SH for all my tips ;-)
Nanjing walking streetNanjing walking street
Nanjing walking street

The Times Square of Shanghai
WesternizationWesternization
Westernization

Look how it ruins my photo! This is the Oriental Pearl TV Tower, as seen from Nanjing Road.
CocaCola, Chinese-styleCocaCola, Chinese-style
CocaCola, Chinese-style

Ke Kou Ke Le = Tasty drink makes the mouth happy! (approximately)
Pepsi, Chinese-stylePepsi, Chinese-style
Pepsi, Chinese-style

Pepsi has somehow managed to dominate East Nanjing Road...
NestleNestle
Nestle

In honor of my #1 fan!
Her MajestyHer Majesty
Her Majesty

"Mere words cannot describe the true majesty of her waters and edifices of brilliant colors"... or so the loudspeaker said. These buildings are in PuXi, the West side of the river.
NatsukiNatsuki
Natsuki

This is my new flatmate, on a waterboat tour. Behind us is the Oriental Pearl TV Tower (much prettier at night than during the day).
Bright lightsBright lights
Bright lights

This building has a screen that is half the size of a soccer field. When there is a big even (say, a soccer game), they will broadcast it here. Apparently the lights from this building can even be seen outside the city borders...


26th June 2008

WHOA!
you guys are having so much fun :)... miss you miss ego haha so i'm going to inner mongolia with my mom and some people from july 21-27th i think.. but will stop by beijing on my way out. will you still be in china? :) ..or in spain already :)P
1st July 2008

i am so honored to have a shoutout. cant wait to hang out in valencia!! its going to be so fun!!! i might even let you speak spanish to me. btw, you have not given me an answer about the tomatina festival so i am going to assume you're going with me. you have no choice.

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb