China Shanghi


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
February 18th 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post



Monica, Justin and I
While I was in China I had the opportunity to see a good friend of mine called Monica. Now it wasn’t on the happiest occasion but we made the most of it. She was going with her boyfriend to Singapore and they decided to take a cab ride around Shanghai while they where waiting for there connecting flight. However fate had its own plans and Monica forgot her purse in the cab which yes… had her passport inside it. Argh! Imagine that you stop off to see a city thinking ‘let’s maximise our time’ and you forget your passport. On a brighter note this meant that I got to spend 4 days with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while. We went to the market where I have to tell you I was…what’s the word I am looking for…you know when your arghh…how can I say this without it sounding bad? Okay, I was amazed but with a kind of shock. Five floors with about thirty by thirty aisles and I would say thousands of stores on each floor! It took us about an hour to just go down one aisle it was just impossible to see the whole thing. The market was amazing.

Monica’s brother Justin ended up coming to see her for the last week that she was there. As an older brother he didn’t want to leave his baby sister all by herself in a country at the other end of the world. I admire that; it made me think about my sisters and how far I would go for them. Having Monica in China with me was so good, I can’t stress on how good it felt. Seeing a friend after three months of not seeing anyone I knew helped me reflect on this beautiful project I am a part of. I guess when you tell someone else what you’re doing that’s when you really get to understand your feelings towards your work.

We all went out to a club one night called Muze II. Finally, not a hole in the wall, don’t get me wrong, I don’t mind clubs that are simply good for its music but I need to party in a club that was designed to be a club. That’s more of a personal preference and that’s why I loved Muze II so much, this club was HOT. The people were really dressed well, the club was amazing to be in and looked like someone designed it from top to bottom, the people were friendly and I could see a lot of foreigners mingling with the locals. One of the things that I liked the most was the music!!! Finally some hip hop and r &b, I have been hearing the same music for the last two countries so to hear a live performance sung to the room by an American gentlemen and Chinese women was completely appealing to me.

Besides the nightlife and everything else, I got to see the Yuyuan Garden, which is something I highly recommend if you’re in China and the Jade Buddhist temple.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb