A long, unwanted pause


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
March 23rd 2008
Published: March 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello everyone! I am very sorry for the long wait for an update, but life here has been kinda hectic yet mundane at the same time. As some of you already know, I was hospitalized for 4 days recently. My appendix was the culprit- I went into emergency surgery to have it removed shortly after arriving at the hospital.

The stay in the hospital was boring and I didn't even have access to the internet. I watched Chinese TV for the first couple of days until my laptop and movie supply arrived. The second two days I watched two full seasons of House. It seemed appropriate for the setting! Everything went well and I am mostly impressed with the Chinese health care system. I am also really glad for my traveler's insurance, which has paid for 100% of my hospital bills. It was very worth the $32 a month.

There is only one negative thing to mention now. The morning that I was discharged, I woke up with stomach pains. Really it was a cramp in my muscles, and it was extremely painful. After about 5 minutes, it disappeared and I went home in spite of it. Today, almost
Apendix WoundApendix WoundApendix Wound

It looks worse now... no bandage any more.
a week later, I have had two similar incidents. The first woke me up this morning, but the second was after dinner and was even more painful. About 15 minutes after the pain started, it finally went away. Then my friend Gina and I went to the hospital to report it and see if they could do anything. I now have muscle relaxers and instructions to return if the pain persists. Hopefully I won't be needing either.

On a happier note, my hospitalization showed me that even when I am away from my friends and family, I am still capable of having meaningful friendships with people from all walks of life. Every day I had visitors from school. Some even snuck in chocolate and McDonalds! Its very comforting to me to know that my friendships here are not taken for granted, and just that knowledge has made this semester abroad worth every penny.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Chinese torture deviceChinese torture device
Chinese torture device

They used so many ivs on me that my kidneys hurt worse than my fresh scar.
First mealFirst meal
First meal

This meal was delicious because it wasn't liquefied food.
Last lunchLast lunch
Last lunch

By the last day I was so tired of hopsital food. The fish and mushrooms were cold, and the rice pourage came with every meal.


24th March 2008

LoL hopsital food....
LoL hospital food... At least it looks much better than the food in America. It is good to know your doing better. Hope your still doing fine! Just remember your friends at home may we not always be there still care about you. P.S. Happy Belated Easter to you. It's still Easter here.
24th March 2008

get well
thanks for sharing, this is a neat story. Esp. the part about meaningful relationships and your friends sneaking in snacks, that is awesome. Get well soon dude
24th March 2008

Re: Next post !
Looking forward to the next installment. Hope your feeling ok now.
6th April 2008

Haha, i never thought I would see traditional chinese in a hospital..nt
nt...................................... ,,,,,sdsdgshshjmd jt y gy d h

Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0281s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb