Back in Shanghai


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
September 18th 2007
Published: September 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

We woke up late and we got an even later start because I was obsessed with my water heater. I asked the landlord to fix a leak while I was away, but instead a new water heater was intalled. Hmm. Now there's a leak AND no hot water. I tried to figure out how to fix this Chinese appliance myself. No luck. It's fine now, after the landlord took another look.

We had a relaxing day enjoying the city of Shanghai. I took Christina to Metro City's Megabite (food court). I love Megabite. It's cheap, convenient and there are so many choices. There are about 25 different kinds of small eateries there! We settled on some noodles, sheng jian, and pot stickers - all for under 25 yuan.

After lunch, we took the metro to People's Square and walked Nanjing Lu to the Bund. This is the first time ever I've walked even 10 minutes in the daytime without sweating or taking out my hanky to wipe my dripping face. CL lucked out on the weather, even though she still thought it was hot and humid. Literally, it's 20 F degrees cooler now than it was in July. I was so miserable. My electricity was 230 rmb last month, which is obnoxious for a single person. Shame on me for using so much electricity. So American.

Anyway, I always enjoy a walk down Nanjing Lu. We took the Bund Sightseeing Tunnel across the Huangpu River to get to Jin Mao Tower to have tea at the Hyatt. The Sightseeing Tunnel is this tourist ride that takes you though a bunch of tacky lights while you listen to cheesy narration about the layers of the earth. It's totally odd and just terrible. You have to go on it yourself just for kicks and so you can wonder, "Why on earth would anyone build something so tacky?!" CL and I got a few laughs out of it and I thought to myself, "But is this what local people like and fits their definition of beauty and fascination?" I think so. I'll do some research re: who built and designed it.

The Hyatt afternoon tea and dessert never fails. The plum tart is so delicious. They have fruit, cheesecake, tarts, mango pudding, cakes, mousses, ice cream, chinese dessert, etc. I tried to be a moderate eater. CL tried all 6 flavors of ice cream. It was fun.

We made our way back and stopped by some department stores to try to look for some Shanghai clothes for CL. I picked out things and asked CL, "Is this fobby?" She responds, "Umm... yeah." Apparently my choice in clothing has a more local taste now. It's funny how our preferences change so easily given a certain environment.

CL and I went to get foot massages. What a great thing to do on her last day in Shanghai. It's best that guests leave relaxed and well fed. I was afraid she'd be weirded out by the foot rubbing, but she enjoyed it. We went to Little Sheep for hot pot afterwards and CL confirmed that it's tasty. She didn't rave about it like EW and his friend did, but she thought it was good. Little Sheep is on Nandan Lu and Wending Lu. There are stores all over. Little Sheep is one of the nice hot pot places. Dolar Shop on Tianyaoqiao Lu is good too, and cheap. Hot pot is so much fun - I love fishing around the pot to make sure I get every morsel of food out. 😊

CL left the next day and I was all alone again. A tinge of me wished I was going home with her. I'm so thankful that we both had the time to travel together. It's such a rare opportunity and unique experience to be able to spend this kind of quality time with friends. Didn't it sound like we had fun? We had a great time together and some good laughs.

So who wants to come visit now?! Next stop is Xinjiang Province and then onto Sichuan.




Advertisement



25th September 2007

great job narrating our travels! you even got the guy playing his cell phone ringtones in. fantastic. and you make me sound like a hopeless coffee addict and piggy dessert eater. even more fantastic! i had so much fun!!
25th September 2007

that's what friends are for
to drink coffee and eat dessert with! :)

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 72; dbt: 0.1178s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb