Shanghai on a Shoestring


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
July 2nd 2007
Published: July 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

We've been in Shanghai for three days and it has been pretty amazing! There really aren't any historical sights to be seen here, which is ok because I think I have seen one too many temples 😊 However, we have had some fun adventures..

So I was walking down the street enjoying the tall buildings and the overwhelming heat, when out of nowhere two asian girls approach me and start talking to me, very friendly girls who are traveling from Macau. We talk for a bit and they ask if I want to get a drink and some snacks with them. Fortunately for me I have heard all about this scam, but of course I have a heart for adventure so I go anyway. Note: the scam is they talk to rich americans and get them to pay for a very nice expensive meal. Well, the first thing I do at the restaurant is approach the waitress one on one and tell her I just met these girls and I will only pay for what I order. So, the girls proceed to order expensive drinks and meals and I get one beer and just sit there and enjoy talking to them. When the bill comes, and oh what a bill it was, they look at me and tell the waitress I invited them up there and I was going to pay. Poor, sad little scammers. After thoroughly expressing to them how they are liars and rude and should not treat people the way they do, I stood up and gave the waitress my small, very small, amount of money and walk out. They were left with a huge bill, no fault of my own, and a depressed heart sitting sad and lonely at the bar! Pretty funny little situation I got myself into, and thankfully, out of.

Later on we met a very cool Australian family staying at the five star Ramada. They invited us to use their pool freely. We went up with them and they got us swim caps, which were mandatory, and gave us a key to the pool, and Rachel and I swam and played fun games such as monkey in the middle and three flags up with their kids for hours. Such an amazing family!

Tomorrow morning I leave to meet up with Pat in Vietnam! We are going to have a nice Vietnamese meal then have a rager!! Really looking forward to that 😊 I will upload some great pics of Shanghai next time I am at a computer with a USB port (whats up with that?) Peace.

Advertisement



11th July 2007

Stupid girls
That's right Dru, put them in their place. Fortunately for you, you were already aware of their little ploy. Women, always after the cabbage. Keep on truckin buddy.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb