The Market


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
April 17th 2007
Published: April 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Pig FacesPig FacesPig Faces

Pig faces were being sold on the street. The Chinese teachers say they are very good when fried.
I am finally feeling more comfortable going to the market by myself. There is one fruit stand I visit regularly. Every time I walk in the woman who works there gets very excited to see me and when I leave she gives me a few extra pieces of fruit. At that shop I am able to buy imported fruits from the U.S. Yesterday, I went to the large vegetable and meat market. I was a little intimidated, because it was the first time I went alone. Last time I went to the market with my ayie (house cleaner) who is Chinese. When shopping with her I could tell that the other Chinese people at the market were asking her how she knew me (they kept looking at me and talking and smiling) or why she was there with me. I am always a little nervous about buying things there because the flies are everywhere and on the food (I figure I should be ok, because I cook the vegetables and wash them). I am also getting used to seeing different animal parts in grocery stores and on the street. Now when I see chicken feet, chicken heads and pig hooves
My communityMy communityMy community

This is my view looking out after leaving my apartment. There are apartments and houses in my subdivision.
it is no surprise...I don’t think twice. This past trip to the market, people kept yelling to me and telling me to buy their produce. I walked up to a counter and asked for what I thought was 3 potatoes. I ended up getting 3lbs of potatoes...I need to learn some new words for buying food. The woman just kept smiling at me and putting more potatoes in the bag.

A sweet Chinese treat is sesame paste. I bought a bag of sesame balls (like dumplings with black sesame paste inside). I have been trying to cook some Chinese dishes on my own. Peanuts are very popular in Chinese cooking as well. I have been making a lot of fried rice the past couple weeks. The longer I am here I eat less western food and the more Chinese food. My friend had an interesting picture of pig faces that were for sale on the street. The teachers at my school said you fry them and then eat them (supposedly is very good).

I have been waking up at 5:45 every morning to go running around my apartment complex. There are probably a couple other foreigners that
ApartmentApartmentApartment

This is a picture when walking in to my apartment building. My enterance is on the right.
live in my area. I was surprised to find that many people are up and walking at that time (I have only seen foreigners run, I have yet to see Chinese run). I dont run outside my complex, mostly because there are stray dogs that run around the town. Now when I go out I see the usual people out at that time. The guards of my subdivision are now getting to know me, because they now see me every day. In the past, when I take a taxi and try to get in to my gated subdivision the guards did not understand why I was coming in and it seemed like they didnt want to let me in. Now, I have no trouble, I just wave and they smile and let me through the gates😊

I just received my tickets and travel information for my trip to Beijing. My mom and I are going for five days and four nights, and have a private tour guide who speaks English. We are staying in the Novotel Xinqiao hotel which is two blocks from Tiananmen Square. My mom comes in a week and a half. I am very excited to
MarketMarketMarket

Walking to the market area, there are many people selling vegetables and clothing on the street.
see her!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

MarketMarket
Market

It is sometimes hard to walk on the sidewalk because of all the bikes.
MarketMarket
Market

My fruit vendor is on the left.
Vegetable and Meat MarketVegetable and Meat Market
Vegetable and Meat Market

Sorry it is a little blury. I will take a better picture later this week.


17th April 2007

Pig faces
OK now that you've shown us pictures of the pig faces, I've got to dare you to fry one up and let us know if it tastes like chicken!!
17th April 2007

PIG FACES!
Becky, Are you going to try the pig faces? I am not sure I would be brave enough. Oh, by the way, if you talk to the Dean from Harvard again see what you can do about getting Jeff a full ride!!!
18th April 2007

Great to hear from you
Beckey, It sounds like you doing great! We are so proud of you and ALL YOU HAVE DONE. Before long you will be home and this will be a great memory you can treasure for a lifetime. Your mom is soooooo excite for the trip and to see you. Really enjoy all the pics and comments. Cant wait to hear all about it. Hay, do the pig face come in baby back's too?
18th April 2007

I dig your blogs and especially the pics...they are really intresting, and I share them with my co-workers here. Although my stomach, the morning, and your food stories don't mix too well! I will have to read your new blogs later in the afternoon when my breakfast has settled :)...just kidding...take care!
20th April 2007

Hi Becky. Does anyone have a lock on thier bike? Do the fried pig faces come with some sort of dip? Miss you. See you soon!

Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb