When in China.....


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai
December 12th 2006
Published: December 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My city bikeMy city bikeMy city bike

Rack on the back for side-saddle passengers. Baskets front and back. Freedom! I've since added a great ringy-dingy bell and of course there's a built in lock. I've already used it many times for grocery, money, and bakery outings.
When in Rome, do as the Romans do! Well, we're not in Rome, but might as well be for all the foreign lifestyle we are surrounded by. Today I purchased a "city bike" - also known as the very rudimentary "Chinese bike". Basic - no gears, loaded with baskets front and back, big tires, cheap (280rmb = $32). Perfect for the quick ride for groceries, market fruit or very local exploring. Hopefully no one will be interested in stealing this gem of transportation! Now I'm ready to join in and haul all of life's necessities - water, birds, garbage, landscaping material - you name it, we've seen it transported by bike. I might even convince Matt to agree to a sidesaddle adventure along with me.....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb