Another train journey


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong
November 4th 2010
Published: November 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

After doing a 16 hour train journey yesterday, i had a shorter train ride today. A 7 minute trip on the Maglev from Shanghai to the airport. It reached 280mph, considerably faster than the Eurostar. I remember reading about experimental Magnetically levitated trains years ago. This is the only commercial maglev train in the world and also happens to be the Worlds fastest train. Took a trip up shanghai's tallest building, at 485 metres, also one of the world's tallest. Shanghai is certainly a city with big ambitions. I've also noticed something strange about the fast food outlets in China that is beginning to bother me, out of the eight I've been in, six have had Just one song playing on repeat on the sound system. By the time you've finished your meal, you've heard the song 4 - 6 times and can't get out the place quick enough. Maybe that's the idea, to ensure fast customer turnover, or maybe the Chinese haven't got the hang of setting ambience, or maybe I've just been unlucky. Also found a B&Q store, just like one in the UK.

Advertisement



5th November 2010

Another train journey
Another train journey Asia » China » Shanghai » Pudong November 4th 2010 by Robbiebol I can see how impressed you are by Chinese technology. They are very clever but we never hear about all this over here.Dad seems to have cheered up since he's now talking about what we'll do when you get home. Haven't spoken to Dom yet. I'm so busy - and tired. Can't write more as my hand has seized up - just the RA. Keep the blogs going.
8th November 2010

Nice to get your phonecall this evening. Your news sounds exciting and mine sounds a bit on the domestic side. Did however have contact with Dom, yesterday I think and Jacquie today. Did the Chinese have any kind of fireworks like we have for Nov.5th.? They invented them I think. Saw a program about Susan Boyle this evening. She's an admirable woman with a nice voice. No more news. Nite nite.
8th November 2010

postcard
Hi Mike Saw your postcard today and that reminded me to look at the blog. It sounds as though you are having a great time. I love the photos of Hong Kong. Linda :o)

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb