Too Many Legs


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Jing An
September 22nd 2007
Published: September 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Delicious ShengjianDelicious ShengjianDelicious Shengjian

Pan-fried dumplings. Long line for this one.
I was bummed I didn't to see 42nd Street (I love tap dancing). I seem to not know how to ask the right questions. I called the ticket office and she told me there were tickets available and just to come to the box office. I went there an hour prior to the show and of course they were sold out. At that point I think to ask, "How many did you have left today?" The lady said, "I think 4." Great. Oh well. Money saved. The tickets were 600 rmb. Perhaps I'll try the acrobatics show next week.

So I walked around the theater area and went into 580 Nanjing Lu, the touristy knock-off shopping area. I bought some pashmina scarves to bring home to gift to people. The quality of these scarves has seem to deteriorate. The "20 rmb scarves" seem to be horribly cheapie and ugly. I splurged for the better ones.

I then wandered onto Wujiang Rd which is a street of little stands and restaurants. The street is pretty busy with people and there's trash everywhere from people littering. The stands are OK - but if you watch too long you'll get a stomach ache just thinking about how the food is being handled. It's very Chinese-y (no English menus or signs). There's a famous sheng jian (pan fried dumplings) restaurant there and I almost burned my lip off from while eating them. See picture.

Then there was this huge line for these skewer things. People here looooove eating things off skewers, especially fish balls and squid/octopus, and sometimes meats. I figured I would taste what the fuss was about and ordered my very own skewer of mini octopi. I finally got it and I decided there are too many legs. I could clearly see the suction things on each leg too. I couldn't bite off the legs and head - that's too gross. I don't eat bodies.... but I just stuck the entire thing in my mouth anyway. It tasted OK, but not that good. Rubbery. I threw the rest away. 😞

Today is "Car-Free Day" in Shanghai. Certain large, main streets (like Huaihai, Nanjing Lu) are closed to private cars. This is an attempt to decrease the amount of pollution in the city one day. Other cities have rules to restrict car usage, such as on odd calendar days, only odd numbered license plates can drive and vice versa. This helps the pollution that day, but is this really a solution?


Advertisement



23rd September 2007

Acrobats Show
You should definitely check out the acrobatics show, it's really really good.
25th September 2007

hahaha..at first i thought the "too many legs" was in reference to 42nd street! there are a lot of legs in that show too. :)

Tot: 0.198s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 16; qc: 78; dbt: 0.0974s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb