Prologue


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Hongkou
February 23rd 2012
Published: February 23rd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Where to start…….most of you reading this either presently know me or at least knew me at some previous point in my youth. Incase you don’t and you just randomly stumble on this my name is Zac McClanahan and this is my first attempt (probably a miserable one) at any kind of blog. For those of you who don’t know me well, I am notthe type to sit in Starbucks, sip a latte and critique meaningless things just to have my name on the internet.

I am currently living in Zhengzhou China teaching English at a college and traveling in my considerable free time. Friends and family from home have encouraged me to write about the places I go and the things I see, and mom probably just wants an easier way to keep tabs on me from the other side of the world. After a half-assed attempt of keeping a journal I have finally conceded. I am mainly writing for my future recollection so if no one reads it or if no one likes it, all the same. I have been in China since last August so much of these entries will be things I did 3 or 4 months ago.

Prologue:
I graduated from Marshall University May ’10 with a degree in Finance. I want(ed) to go to law school, not because of any grand conviction or life long calling but basically by process of eliminating every other career path. I took the LSAT, a disappointing 150…denied at WVU, accepted at more expensive less than stellar small private schools so the idea of spending $40k/year to learn a career I may or may not enjoy seemed a little too risky for my ramen noodle budget. I remembered an econ professor I had who traveled often telling me about teaching English in China so I contacted him. He gave me an email address and name of a program; I applied, 3 months later I am uprooting from WV to live in China.
<!---->

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0416s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb