At DE, we don't just say goodbye...


Advertisement
China's flag
Asia » China » Shanghai » Changning
December 27th 2012
Published: December 27th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Off to Hangzhou

Shanghai to Hangzhou

Additional maps: Hangzhou

...we SING goodbye!!!

Biiiiiiig news! Today was our last official day of training, and tomorrow will be my last day in Shanghai!

There has been talk for several weeks that those of us leaving Shanghai for satellite centers might be required to stick around in Shanghai for up to 2 additional weeks beyond training. Issues with visas, center requirements and travel challenges have all been cited as potential causes… however, it turns out that we have run into none of these, so I will be leaving Shanghai on Saturday.

There is a bittersweet feeling associated with all of this. For one, I am just starting to feel comfortable with Shanghai: I’ve mastered the Metro system, I know how to get lost here, I have friends here, and so on. But I am also ecstatic about moving on to Hangzhou. I’m posting a map so that you can get a better idea.

Hangzhou is a little bit south of Shanghai. So, in all reality I am definitely not leaving Shanghai permanently. I’m almost certain to be back in the near future. However, Hangzhou is also rumored to be a FANTASTIC area (http://www.gotohz.com/). As you can see on my map, it is just a tiny bit south and west of Shanghai, but it is actually closer to the water. Not only is it closer to the ocean, but its activity center is a very large lake (known as West Lake or Xihu) that is said to be absolutely beautiful year round. There are lots of outdoor and recreational activities that also ought to better fit my lifestyle. Hence the reason I chose Hangzhou as my final landing pad with DE. That’s the sweet part.

The bitter part, naturally, is that I’m parting ways with several really great people. The 5+ clan bonded quickly, as was necessary for survival. So, it will honestly be difficult to let go of that equally as quickly. I’ve indicated their destinations on the map: Michelle is heading to way south to Guangzhou, close to Hong Kong; Chris is heading way west to Chengdu – where the pandas are!!; Dave is just north of us in Nanjing. Maeghan is heading to Hangzhou with me. And I think she’s finally decided that I’m not too annoying to live with – so I believe we’ll be roommates J

I will admit: there is a sweetness to this parting of ways, too. Assuming we all stay in touch this year, the 5+ clan has a LOT of easy travel options this year! Ever since I signed with Disney I’ve been talking about the pandas in Chengdu. Check that one off! I have a couch to sleep on between visits with the pandas (who are bound to quickly become my very best friends, of course). Guangzhou is very close to Hong Kong: another travel must. And Nanjing is… Nanjing is… well, sorry Dave. You can still be our friend, anyway. (Anyone know any good reasons to visit Nanjing? We’d love to hear them). But yes, Maeghan will be traveling with me to Hangzhou… which makes my life a LOT easier!

Anyway, we’ve been told that we will be taking a high speed train (averaging 420 kph / 260 mph… in case you were curious) to Hangzhou on Saturday where we have yet another hotel booked and waiting for us. That trip should take a little over an hour. Immediately on Saturday, we will meet our local teaching assistants who are set to help us get situated in town. And they have their work cut out for them as next week we will: observe existing classes, plan for our new classes, receive our uniforms (“costumes”), find an apartment, switch our bank accounts, get new phones/phone numbers (both of which have to happen because we are in another region of the country, and these banks and phones are not compatible without significant fees), oh and maybe sleep once in awhile.

So, it’s fair to say that there are a lot of mixed emotions going around tonight as we all (the entire on-boarding staff of 20) get together tonight for a little farewell dinner. It is amazing how quickly bonds have formed in just 14 days.

But anyway, to Shanghai:

♪ ….Goodbye, See you soooooooooon, see you next tiiiiiiimme!! ♫

(I will never get that #@$%! song out of my head after this year… not to mention the “Hello” song… But that’s another story for another day!)



See you next time!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 61; dbt: 0.1315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb